Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 25 May 2006, 14:12 GMT 15:12 UK
Montoya shines in Monaco practice
Juan Pablo Montoya's McLaren approaches the tunnel at Monaco
Montoya powers along the waterfront in practice at Monaco
Juan Pablo Montoya raised McLaren hopes after clocking the fastest time of the recognised race drivers in free practice at the Monaco Grand Prix.

Williams test driver Alex Wurz was the pacesetter in second practice with one minute 15.907 seconds, followed by Honda counterpart Anthony Davidson.

But Montoya was in impressive form, finishing 0.231 seconds behind Wurz.

World champion Fernando Alonso, quickest in the first session with 1:16.712, was fourth in his Renault.

He was one clear of Red Bull tester Robert Doornbos, while Montoya's team-mate Kimi Raikkonen recovered from a morning scare to go sixth.

I'd love to win but that's not really on the cards I would say

Honda's Jenson Button
Finn Raikkonen parked up with smoke coming from the back of his McLaren in first practice but fears of an engine failure were allayed when a burnt-out wiring loom was found to be the culprit.

Renault's Giancarlo Fisichella was seventh, ahead of Briton David Coulthard's Red Bull.

Coulthard's compatriot Jenson Button, preparing for his first race at Monaco since 2004, was ninth for Honda.

Earlier, Button - who was eighth in the morning session - wrote off his chances of breaking his Formula One duck in his own back yard in Monaco.

"I'd love to win but that's not really on the cards I would say," said the 26-year-old, who lives in Monaco.

"On this sort of circuit you can get closer and we can make a bit of a difference but we are not going to be close to the Renaults or the Ferraris, no way."

A stray bollard and Robert Kubica caused the other two red flags - the Pole damaging the right rear wheel on his BMW-Sauber in a last-turn smash.

Second free practice session at Circuit de Monaco (Monte Carlo) on Thursday:

1. Alexander Wurz (Aut) Williams-Cosworth 1:15.907
2. Anthony Davidson (GB) Honda 1:16.075
3. Juan Pablo Montoya (Col) McLaren-Mercedes 1:16.138
4. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault 1:16.221
5. Robert Doornbos (Ned) Red Bull-Ferrari 1:16.292
6. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) McLaren-Mercedes 1:16.707
7. Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Renault 1:16.721
8. David Coulthard (GB) RedBull-Ferrari 1:16.870
9. Jenson Button (GB) Honda 1:16.903
10. Felipe Massa (Brz) Ferrari 1:17.251
11. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 1:17.325
12. Tiago Monteiro (Por) Midland-Toyota 1:17.439
13. Rubens Barrichello (Brz) Honda 1:17.456
14. Giorgio Mondini (Ita) Midland-Toyota 1:17.497
15. Michael Schumacher (Ger) Ferrari 1:17.603
16. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) Toro Rosso-Cosworth 1:17.638
17. Mark Webber (Aus) Williams-Cosworth 1:17.744
18. Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 1:17.793
19. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams-Cosworth 1:17.845
20. Jacques Villeneuve (Can) BMW Sauber 1:17.874
21. Christian Klien (Aut) RedBull - Ferrari 1:18.123
22. Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber 1:18.257
23. Scott Speed (US) Toro Rosso-Cosworth 1:18.420
24. Christijan Albers (Ned) MF1 - Toyota 1:18.430
25. Franck Montagny (Fra) Super Aguri-Honda 1:18.731
26. Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber 1:19.273
27. Neel Jani (Swi) Toro Rosso-Cosworth 1:19.445
28. Takuma Sato (Jpn) Super Aguri-Honda 1:19.803

First free practice session:

1. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault 1:16.712
2. Anthony Davidson (GB) Honda 1:16.872
3. Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Renault 1:16.888
4. Michael Schumacher (Ger) Ferrari 1:16.973
5. Juan Pablo Montoya (Col) McLaren 1:17.458
6. Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber 1:17.869
7. Alexander Wurz (Aut) Williams-Cosworth 1:17.949
8. Jenson Button (GB) Honda 1:18.329
9. Robert Doornbos (Ned) RedBull - Ferrari 1:18.394
10. Rubens Barrichello (Brz) Honda 1:18.406
11. David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull-Ferrari 1:18.447
12. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams-Cosworth 1:18.480
13. Mark Webber (Aus) Williams-Cosworth 1:18.571
14. Felipe Massa (Brz) Ferrari 1:18.695
15. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 1:18.703
16. Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 1:19.021
17. Jacques Villeneuve (Can) BMW Sauber 1:19.246
18. Christian Klien (Aut) Red Bull-Ferrari 1:19.543
19. Neel Jani (Swi) Toro Rosso-Cosworth 1:19.651
20. Giorgio Mondini (Ita) Midland-Toyota 1:19.669
21. Tiago Monteiro (Por) Midland-Toyota 1:19.730
22. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Ita) Toro Rosso-Cosworth 1:19.857
23. Scott Speed (US) Toro Rosso-Cosworth 1:20.137
24. Christijan Albers (Ned) MF1-Toyota 1:20.552
25. Takuma Sato (Jpn) Super Aguri - Honda 1:21.144
26. Franck Montagny (Fra) Super Aguri - Honda 1:21.594
27. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) McLaren 2:06.592
28. Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber

Schumi out to match Senna record
23 May 06 |  Formula One
Rookies warned of Monaco 'hell'
17 May 06 |  Formula One
Schumi plays down Spanish GP blip
15 May 06 |  Formula One
Spanish glory for champion Alonso
14 May 06 |  Formula One


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us