Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 6 March, 2005, 00:11 GMT
Fisichella seals Australia pole
Giancarlo Fisichella celebrates pole position in Melbourne
1 G Fisichella (Renault)
2 J Trulli (Toyota)
3 M Webber (Williams)
4 J Villeneuve (Sauber)
5 D Coulthard (Red Bull)
6 C Klien (Red Bull)
7 N Heidfeld (Williams)
8 J Button (BAR)
Renault's Giancarlo Fisichella will start the Australian Grand Prix in pole position after holding his nerve in Sunday's second qualifying session.

Fisichella's combined time of three minutes 1.460 seconds kept him clear of Toyota's Jarno Trulli in second with Williams driver Mark Webber third.

Britain's David Coulthard and Jenson Button qualified fifth and eighth.

Ferrari's Michael Schumacher opted not to attempt a flying lap and will start from 18th place with a new engine.

For the first time in F1 history, grid positions were decided by combining times from the two qualifying sessions.

There was only a minor shuffling of the order because of the large gaps between the cars in Saturday's wet-dry-wet session

Coulthard was one beneficiary - leapfrogging ahead of Red Bull team-mate Christian Klien with an impressive lap more than a second faster than the Austrian.

Juan Pablo Montoya
Montoya made his Sunday run count and moved ahead of Raikkonen
And in Juan Pablo Montoya's first race for McLaren the Colombian jumped ahead of team-mate Kimi Raikkonen, who made a mistake and ran wide at Turn 12 on his qualifying lap.

The two will line up side-by-side in ninth and 10th places on the grid.

They and Ferrari driver Rubens Barrichello displaced India's Narain Karthikeyan, who slipped from ninth overnight to 12th on the grid for his first Grand Prix - and the first for anyone from the subcontinent.

With so many of the top drivers starting from midfield, the stage is set for a thrilling first race of the 2005 F1 season.

But Fisichella, as the only driver from a top team in the first seven on the grid, has a great chance of getting his career at Renault off to a winning start.

Grid positions for Australian Formula One Grand Prix:

1 Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Renault 3mins 01.460secs
2 Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota 3:04.429
3 Mark Webber (Aus) Williams 3:04.996
4 Jacques Villeneuve (Can) Sauber 3:06.846
5 David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull 3:07.212
6 Christian Klien (Aut) Red Bull 3:07.477
7 Nick Heidfeld (Ger) Williams 3:09.130
8 Jenson Button (GB) BAR 3:12.128
9 Juan Montoya (Col) McLaren 3:14.645
10 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) McLaren 3:15.558
11 Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Ferrari 3:16.822
12 Narain Karthikeyan (Ind) Jordan 3:17.092
13 Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault 3:17.466
14 Tiago Monteiro (Por) Jordan 3:20.329
15 Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 3:22.717
16 Patrick Friesacher (Ger) Minardi 3:28.363
17 Christijan Albers (Ned) Minardi no time
18 Felipe Massa (Bra) Sauber no time
19 Michael Schumacher (Ger) Ferrari no time
20 Takuma Sato (Jpn) BAR no time

F1 bosses threaten Australian GP
05 Mar 05 |  Motorsport


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport