Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 21 August 2005, 13:33 GMT 14:33 UK
Raikkonen seals Turkish triumph
Kimi Raikkonen
1 Raikkonen (Fin) McLaren
2 F Alonso (Sp) Renault
3 JP Montoya (Col) McLaren
4 G Fisichella (Ita) Renault
5 J Button (GB) BAR
6 J Trulli (Ita) Toyota
7 D Coulthard (GB) Red Bull
8 C Klien (Aut) Red Bull
Kimi Raikkonen surged to victory in the inaugural Turkish Grand Prix ahead of championship leader Fernando Alonso.

The Finn's McLaren-Mercedes started on pole but was beaten to the first turn by Renault's Giancarlo Fisichella.

Raikkonen regained the lead on lap one and was never threatened again, reducing Alonso's lead to 24 points.

Alonso took second in his Renault after a late error by McLaren's Juan Pablo Montoya, who was third. Fisichella held off BAR's Jenson Button for fourth.

Fisichella, without a win since the season opener in Melbourne, stormed into the lead off the grid as Raikkonen also came under pressure from Alonso.

Raikkonen then moved into the lead towards the end of lap one when he passed Fisichella at the end of the back straight, emerging ahead after going into the corner three abreast with the two Renaults.

"I didn't get the best start, I got a bit of wheel spin," Raikkonen said. "But I was confident that we would have the speed.

"We had been quick all weekend and we had a big advantage on speed. The circuit was not bad physically, and I was able to just take it pretty easy."

The only major incident at the start saw Sauber's over-eager Felipe Massa damage his left wing after running into Williams' Nick Heidfeld.

I was just cruising past Monteiro and he hit me
Juan Pablo Montoya

Britain's Button was among the early gainers, climbing up to fifth from 13th on the grid in the first 10 laps.

Ferrari's Michael Schumacher also made great progress, having started from the back row after spinning out in qualifying and an engine change.

But the reigning world champion was put out of contention after a lap-15 collision with Mark Webber of Williams, a messy 40-second pit-stop and power-steering problems.

On a day of pit-lane incident, a fuel rig failure cost Fisichella 20 seconds and any chance of a podium placing.

Montoya also had problems, nearly taking the McLaren fuel rig with him after being told to pull away prematurely on lap 20.

Both Webber and Heidfeld were forced out of the race by identical tyre problems, with their right rears shredding after touching a kerb.

Trulli made up for another poor showing from team-mate Ralf Schumacher by challenging the Renault pair hard mid-race for a podium finish.

Button rose as high as third after taking advantage of a moment of Alonso hesitation but lost ground after pitting on lap 21.

He then out-duelled Trulli for fourth spot before losing it to Fisichella on his second stop.

Montoya suffered a spin three laps from the end when he was tagged from behind after passing Tiago Monteiro's Jordan.

The Colombian recovered only to surrender second to Alonso after running off on the penultimate lap, denying McLaren their first one-two of the season in the process.

Montoya said Monteiro had damaged the diffuser of his car, robbing it of crucial rear downforce, which he did not notice until he turned into Turn Eight - the most demanding corner of the track - on the next lap.

The lack of grip forced him to run wide and Alonso was able to nip past.

Turkish Grand Prix results:

1. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) McLaren 1hr 24mins 34.454secs
2. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault at 18.609
3. Juan Pablo Montoya (Col) McLaren 19.635
4. Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Renault 37.973
5. Jenson Button (GB) BAR 39.304
6. Jarno Trulli (ITA) Toyota 55.420
7. David Coulthard (GB) Red Bull 1:09.296
8. Christian Klien (Aut) Red Bull 1:11.622
9. Takuma Sato (Jap) BAR 1:49.987
10. Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Ferrari 1 lap
11. Jacques Villeneuve (Can) Sauber 1
12. Ralf Schumacher (Ger) Toyota 1
13. Robert Doornbos (Ned) Minardi 3
14. Narain Karthikeyan (Ind) Jordan 3
15. Tiago Monteiro (Por) Jordan 3

C Albers (Ned) Minardi after 10 laps
M Schumacher (Ger) Ferrari 26 laps
N Heidfeld (Ger) Williams 29 laps
G Massa (Bra) Sauber 30 laps
M Webber (Aus) Williams 38 laps

Report: BBC Five Live's Maurice Hamilton

Montoya unhappy after collision
21 Aug 05 |  Formula One
Button happy after Turkish charge
21 Aug 05 |  Formula One
BAR's Button issues track warning
20 Aug 05 |  Formula One
Raikkonen on pole for Turkish GP
20 Aug 05 |  Formula One
Qualifying as it happened
20 Aug 05 |  Formula One
McLaren make fast start in Turkey
19 Aug 05 |  Formula One


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport