BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:55 GMT, Friday, 3 September 2010 16:55 UK

McGurk wins Ultra Lightweight MGP in race record time

Phil McGurk
Phil McGurk set a new lap and race record

Phil McGurk set a new lap and race record as he stormed to victory in the Ultra Lightweight class at the Manx Grand Prix on Friday.

The Lancastrian rider set a lap record of 112.572 mph, and an overall race record of 1 hour, 21 minutes 47.48 on way to his first Mountain Course win.

Rab Davie finished one minute down in second with Joe Phillips claiming his first MGP podium in third.

Meanwhile, Neil Kent won the Lightweight class.

Kent finished over one and a half minutes ahead of Tom Snow with Stuart Garton third.

The Boston rider said: "The bike is unbelievable and I've had a fantastic fortnight.

"All I was doing during the race was trying to concentrate, with the shadows under the trees. It's only taken me 21 years to win."

The race was started by five-time 2010 TT winner Ian Hutchinson.

Result, 3 September


1. Neil Kent 250cc Yamaha / D Trollope Racing/Morris Lubricants - 109.374 mph

2. Tom Snow 250cc Honda - 107.309

3. Stuart Garton 250cc Yamaha / Haskell & Co - 106.498

Ultra Lightweight

1. Philip McGurk 650cc Kawasaki / Spring Court Motorcycles - 110.709 mph

2. Rab Davie 650cc Honda - 109.144

3. Joe Phillips 650cc Kawasaki / Paul Morrisey / Wood Racing IOM - 108.958

Print Sponsor