BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:55 GMT, Friday, 3 September 2010 11:55 UK

Roy Richardson and Chris McGahan win MGP races

Roy Richardson
The victory is Richardson's eighth at the Manx Grand Prix

Roy Richardson won his second MGP title of the week on Thursday adding the Senior Classic to the Junior Classic he won on Monday.

The Blackpool rider won the rescheduled four-lap race by over five and a half minutes, with Paul Coward second and Dave Matravers third.

Alan Oversby looked set for victory before stopping at Guthries on the final lap just 11 miles from the end.

Richardson also had problems but nursed the bike home for his eighth MGP win.

The 46-year-old said: "I rolled the bike onto half throttle to nurse it over the mountain as it was misfiring through Ramsey. I was aware that I was behind Alan and just pushed as hard as I could to put pressure on him. It's been brilliant week."

Meanwhile, Chris McGahan won the inaugural Formula Classic title for 750cc machines on a 1971 Miles Trident.

McGahan finished over a minute ahead of David Madsen-Mygdal with Alec Whitwell third.

The Peel rider said: "The bike was absolutely perfect and it was fantastic to hear people cheering the sound.

"I didn't really have any problems and probably lost a bit of concentration on the last lap so had to pull myself together."

The day ended with a final practice for Friday's Senior, Lightweight and Ultra-Lightweight races.

Result, 2 September

Senior Classic

1. Roy Richardson 476cc Aermacchi / Martin Bullock Manxsport / FCL Racing -105.764 mph

2. Paul Coward 492cc Nourish 99.170

3. Dave Matravers 500cc Matchless 94.340

Senior-Classic Race (501cc - 750cc)

1. Chris McGahan 746cc Miles Trident / Atherstone Accident Repair Centre - 102.563 mph

2. David Madsen-Mygdal 750cc Triumph / Quayside Tyres & Exhausts Autocare Centre - 101.260

3. Alec Whitwell 560cc Honda / Geoff Bates Racing - 94.471

Print Sponsor