BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 10:48 GMT, Monday, 2 August 2010 11:48 UK

Great Britain flop to World Cup final defeat

Rob Lyon
King's Lynn boss Rob Lyon led the GB team

Great Britain failed to follow up on their first round heroics by finishing last in the World Cup final in Denmark.

Poland blew away the Danes, Sweden and Britain at Vojens to cement their status as the kings of speedway.

Coventry's Chris Harris top scored for Rob Lyon's men, who were 11 short of the Poles' 44-point haul.

Lakeside's Lee Richardson, Wolverhampton's Tai Woffinden, Ipswich's Scott Nicholls and Swindon's Simon Stead all scored less than 10.

The Danes took second place, with Peterborough's Kenneth Bjerre and Hans Andersen both picking up nine points, leaving the Swedes in third.

Sunday, 1 August

Speedway World Cup final results:

Poland 44: Tomasz Gollob 12, Jaroslaw Hampel 11, Rune Holta 10, Janusz Kolodziej 6, Adrian Miedzinski 5.

Denmark 39: Hans Andersen 6, Kenneth Bjerre 9, Niels-Kristian Iversen 9, Nicolai Klindt 6, Bjarne Pedersen 9.

Sweden 35: Jonas Davidsson 7, Andreas Jonsson 13, Antonio Lindback 10, Fredrik Lindgren 3, Magnus Zetterstrom 2.

Great Britain 33: Chris Harris 11, Scott Nicholls 5, Lee Richardson 9, Simon Stead 2, Tai Woffinden 6.

Print Sponsor


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.