BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:15 GMT, Saturday, 5 June 2010 18:15 UK

Ian Hutchinson triumphs in Isle of Man TT opener

Ian Hutchinson
Hutchinson lifts the trophy after Saturday's Superbike win

Yorkshire rider Ian Hutchinson clinched victory in the opening race at this year's Isle of Man TT as he won Saturday's Superbike event.

The Padgett's Honda rider finished 33 seconds ahead of Michael Dunlop after the six laps with Cameron Donald a further 10 seconds back in third.

Guy Martin, who was docked 30 seconds for a pit-lane infringement, was fourth with Adrian Archibald in fifth.

Conor Cummins led by 20 seconds after four laps but retired on the next lap.

Isle of Man rider Cummins took the lead on the first lap after John McGuinness was forced out by mechanical trouble at Sulby.

Cummins led Hutchinson by eight seconds after the first lap, setting a new lap record for this race at 131.51mph.

McAdoo Kawasaki rider Cummins was 14 seconds ahead after lap two and 20 seconds in front after laps three and four, before pulling up with mechanical failure at Laurel Bank on lap five.

I just set a steady pace when I knew that I was in front

Ian Hutchinson

Hutchinson and Dunlop both lapped at over 130mph for the first time in race conditions, with Dunlop becoming the fastest-ever Irish rider around the Mountain Course (130.213).

Keith Amor, Ian Lougher, Michael Rutter, Dan Stewart, Ryan Farquhar, Bruce Anstey and Daniel Kneen completed the top 12 with Gary Johnson retiring.

Hutchinson's win was his fourth TT triumph and he was thrilled with his performance.

"I knew I could do it, I really tried early on and then just set a steady pace when I knew that I was in front," said the race winner.

"All credit must go to Clive Padgett who built me a brilliant bike and to the crowds who were waving at me all the way round on that last lap."

The race was delayed for three and a half hours because of mist around the grandstand area.

Saturday's Superbike Race Result
1 Ian Hutchinson
2 Michael Dunlop
3 Cameron Donald
4 Guy Martin
5 Adrian Archibald
6 Keith Amor

Print Sponsor

see also
Dunlop impresses in TT practice
03 Jun 10 |  Motorsport
Dunlop clinches first TT triumph
10 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Dunlop delighted with first TT win
10 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Dunlop's first TT win in photos
11 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
A family affair
06 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McCallen's view
04 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Dunlop impressive in TT practice
04 Jun 09 |  Motorsport

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.