BBC Sport motorsport


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:40 GMT, Monday, 8 June 2009 13:40 UK

McGuinness clinches 15th TT win

John McGuinness
John McGuinness dominated Monday's Superbike race

John McGuinness moved to outright second on the all-time list of Isle of Man TT winners after dominating Monday's Superbike race on the island.

McGuinness set a lap record as he moved above Mike Hailwood's 14 triumphs by powering to an 18-second win over his HM Plant Honda team-mate Steve Plater.

The late Joey Dunlop is the island record holder with 26 victories.

Guy Martin finished third ahead of Ian Hutchinson, Gary Johnson and top Ulsterman Adrian Archibald.

Lincolnshire rider Martin was 54 seconds behind McGuinness as Honda riders dominated the placings in the re-arranged TT opener.

Third place not good enough - Martin

McGuinness clocked a new absolute lap record of 130.44mph on his second circuit and also produced an overall race record while Plater also managed a 130mph lap during the race.

With Cameron Donald ruled out of the meeting after suffering a dislocated shoulder in practice on Friday, Bruce Anstey led the TAS Suzuki challenge but the New Zealander retired on the opening lap.

Ryan Farquhar pulled out at the end of lap one while Michael Dunlop exited after lap four.

The TT opener had been scheduled for Saturday but was called off because of heavy rain.

Monday's planned Superstock and Supersport races will now be held on Tuesday with the second Supersport and Sidecar races on Wednesday.

Print Sponsor

see also
Rossi delights TT fans
08 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness dominates TT opener
08 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Isle of Man TT opener postponed
06 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Donald sets 'fastest ever' TT lap
05 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness speaks of TT success
05 Jun 09 |  England
Anstey spurred on by TT rivalry
05 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Dunlop impressive in TT practice
04 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness storms to 130mph lap
04 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
Tinmouth set for 2009 Junior TT
26 Nov 08 |  MotoGP
Inaugural TTXGP line up announced
03 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness close to TT lap record
03 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
McGuinness fastest at TT practice
02 Jun 09 |  Motorsport
TT 2009 is officially underway
01 Jun 09 |  Motorsport

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.