Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 14 January, 2005, 17:33 GMT
Veteran Vatanen takes Dakar stage
Four-time champion Ari Vatanen
Vatanen won the fourth stage
Four-time champion Ari Vatanen won the 14th stage of the Dakar Rally, his 51st career stage win.

Finland's Vatanen, driving a Nissan, completed the run between Kayes in Mali to Tambaconda in Senegal in four hours 50 minutes and eight seconds.

Vatanen was nine minutes 16 seconds ahead of Bruno Saby's Volkswagen and 20 minutes 55 seconds ahead of overall leader Stephane Peterhansel.

Brazil's Jean de Azevedo, riding a KTM, won the motorcycle stage.

Vatanen's team-mate Giniel de Villiers of South Africa was third, 11 minutes 45 seconds adrift.

With only two days left France's Peterhansel has an almost 27-minute lead over compatriot and fellow Nissan driver Luc Alphand.

De Villiers passed Germany's Jutta Kleinschmidt for third place after her Volkswagen suffered steering problems.

On the bikes, De Azevedo finished ahead of Frenchman David Fretigne and Chris Blais of the United States.

France's Cyril Despres retains the overall lead ahead of Marc Coma of Spain and South Africa's Alfie Cox.

Stage 14 results - Cars
1. Ari Vatanen (Fin) Nissan 4 hours 50 minutes 8 seconds
2. Bruno Saby (Fra) Volkswagen 9 minutes 16 seconds behind
3. Giniel de Villiers (SA) Nissan at 11.45
4. Nani Roma (Spa) Mitsubishi at 14.47
5. Thierry Magnaldi (Fra) Honda at 15.52

Overall standings:
1. Stephane Peterhansel (Fra) Mitsubishi 49 hours 46 minutes 23 seconds
2. Luc Alphand (Fra) Mitsubishi 26 minutes 41 seconds behind
3. Giniel de Villiers (SA) Nissan at 4:06.22
4. Bruno Saby (Fra) Volkswagen at 8:48.18
5. Nani Roma (Spa) Mitsubishi at 9:09.03

Stage 14 results - Motorcycles
1. Jean de Azevedo (Bra) KTM 5 hours 10 minutes 56 seconds
2. David Fretigne (Fra) Yamaha 10 seconds behind
3. Chris Blais (USA) KTM at 23 seconds
4. Alfie Cox (SA) KTM at 34 seconds
5. Marc Coma (Spa) KTM at 3.10

Overall standings:
1. Cyril Despres (Fra) KTM 44 hours 30 minutes 59 seconds
2. Marc Coma (Spa) KTM at 12 minutes 16 seconds behind
3. Alfie Cox (SA) KTM at 14.13
4. Isidre Esteve Pujol (Spa) KTM at 20.17
5. David Fretigne (Fra) Yamaha at 27.15

Peterhansel maintains Dakar lead
12 Jan 05 |  Motorsport
Rider Meoni dies in Dakar Rally
11 Jan 05 |  Motorsport
Bike racer dies after Dakar crash
10 Jan 05 |  Motorsport

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport