Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 13 January, 2005, 15:15 GMT
Peterhansel increases Dakar lead
Stephane Peterhansel's Mitsubishi
Peterhansel and his Mitsubishi lead by four minutes
Defending champion Stephane Peterhansel of France and Australian motorcyclist Andy Caldecott claimed wins on the 13th stage of the Dakar Rally on Thursday.

Peterhansel, driving a Mitsubishi, completed the 370km run from Bamako to Kayes, Mali, in three hours, 30 minutes and seven seconds.

He was 4mins 17secs ahead of compatriot Luc Alphand and 7mins 59secs ahead of Giniel De Villiers, driving a Nissan.

Caldecott completed the special in three hours, 51 minutes and 41 seconds.

Riding a KTM, he was more than two minutes ahead of France's David Fretigne on a Yamaha and 3mins 32secs ahead of American Chris Blais, also on a KTM.

"It was very hard, especially with all the dust," said Caldecott.

"I just had a small problem when I hit something on the road, but as I wasn't riding very fast at that moment, I didn't lose any time."

In the overall standings, Peterhansel increased his lead to 27mins 33secs over Alphand and 1hr 30mins 55secs over Germany's Jutta Kleinschmidt, driving a Volkswagen.

On the bikes, Frenchman Cyril Despres finished seventh, 8mins 18secs off the pace, but remains at the top of the overall standings, 16 minutes ahead of Spain's Marc Coma and 20mins 39secs ahead of Alfie Cox of South Africa.

The competitors face a 630km ride in the 14th stage on Friday, including a 529km timed special between Kayes and Tambacounda, Senegal.

Stage 13 results - Cars
1. Stephane Peterhansel (Fra) Mitsubishi 3 hours 30 minutes 7 seconds
2. Luc Alphand (Fra) Mitsubishi 4 minutes 17 seconds behind
3. Giniel De Villiers (SA) Nissan at 7.59
4. Thierry Magnaldi (Fra) Honda at 9.19
5. Nani Roma (Spa) Mitsubishi at 11.43

Overall standings:
1. Peterhansel 44 hours 35 minutes 20 seconds
2. Alphand 27 minutes 33 seconds behind
3. Kleinschmidt at 1:30.55
4. De Villiers at 4:15.32
5. Saby (Fra) Volkswagen at 8:59.57

Stage 13 results - Motorcycles
1. Andy Caldecott (Aus) KTM 3 hours, 51 minutes and 41seconds
2. David Fretigne (Fra) Yamaha 2 minutes 6 seconds behind
3. Chris Blais (USA) KTM at 3.32
4. Alfie Cox (SA) KTM at 4.29
5. Jean De Azevedo (Bra) KTM at 5.32

Overall standings:
1. Cyril Despres (Fra) KTM 39 hours 13 minutes 3 seconds
2. Marc Coma (Spa) KTM at 16 minutes 6 seconds behind
3. Alfie Cox (SA) KTM at 20.39
4. Isidre Esteve Pujol (Spa) KTM at 21.06
5. David Fretigne (Fra) Yamaha at 34.05

Peterhansel maintains Dakar lead
12 Jan 05 |  Motorsport
Rider Meoni dies in Dakar Rally
11 Jan 05 |  Motorsport
Bike racer dies after Dakar crash
10 Jan 05 |  Motorsport

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport