Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: In Depth: India in South Africa  
Front Page 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

banner Friday, 23 November, 2001, 16:16 GMT
Late strike shatters India
Conner Williams
Williams made a patient start on his India Test debut
Unofficial Test, Centurion Park, Day 1 (Vlose day one): South Africa v India 221-8

Click here for latest scorecard

Mornantau Hayward ended Anil Kumble's tenacious innings with the last ball of the day as South Africa ended on top in the unofficial third Test against India at Centurion Park.

Kumble had led a spirited fightback with the rest of the Indian tail after their top five batsmen were dismissed with 107 runs on the board.

But he was deceived by a slower ball from Hayward that got through his defence to bowl him after surviving 129 deliveries in making 27.


India went into the match without captain Sourav Ganguly, who woke up suffering back spasms, and were further rocked when spearhead bowler Javagal Srinath suffered a finger injury.

They made slow but steady progress in the morning but the play did little to reflect the fireworks that have surrounded this match.

Rahul Dravid
Dravid replaced Ganguly as Indian captain
India were successful in having match referee Mike Denness replaced, but the International Cricket Council has refused to recognise the Test.

Connor Williams survived 46 balls of his Test debut, but could only scratch together five runs before falling lbw to Lance Klusener after a patient opening stand of 16.

Stand-in captain Rahul Dravid dropping anchor, but he fell straight after lunch when Makhaya Ntini trapped him lbw for five.

Shiv Sunder Das and Sachin Tendulkar then upped the tempo with a flurry of boundaries before Das drove Hayward to Herschelle Gibbs at point four short of a half century.

Useful runs

Tendulkar fell to a soft dismissal, tickling a leg-side ball from Kallis to wicketkeeper Mark Boucher for 27 and VVS Laxman scored 13 before cutting the South African all-rounder to point.

Deep Dasgupta and Anil Kumble steadied the ship with a sixth wicket stand of 51 before Hayward struck to remove India's wicketkeeper on his way to claiming figures of 3-70 on the day.

Hayward also saw off Srinath with a rising delivery that struck the Indian on his finger.

Harbhajan Singh scored 29 useful runs before being run out, but the biggest blow to India was losing Kumble.

South Africa: Shaun Pollock (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Gary Kirsten, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, Jacques Rudolph, Lance Klusener, Mark Boucher (wkt), Nicky Boje, Makhaya Ntini, Nantie Hayward.

India: Rahul Dravid (capt), Shiv Sunder Das, Connor Williams, Sachin Tendulkar, Deep Dasgupta (wkt), VVS Laxman, Venkatesh Prasad, Harbhajan Singh, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Ashish Nehra.

South Africa won toss and decided to field
Umpires: Rudi Koertzen and David Orchard (both SA)

Match Referee: Denis Lindsay (SA)

Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to more India in South Africa stories are at the foot of the page.


Links to more India in South Africa stories

^^ Back to top