BBC Sport golf


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:47 GMT, Friday, 12 June 2009 12:47 UK

Major champions lead US Open draw

Tiger Woods
Woods won the US Open in a sudden-death play-off at Torrey Pines last year

Golf's reigning major champions Tiger Woods, Padraig Harrington and Angel Cabrera will play in the same group for the first two rounds of the US Open.

The event starts on 18 June at Bethpage Black, where defending champion Woods captured the 2002 title.

Harrington won last year's Open and PGA Championship while Argentina's Cabrera won the Masters two months ago.

Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy is in an exciting-looking group with American Ryder Cup winner Anthony Kim.

World number two Phil Mickelson, who withdrew from the Tour last month after his wife Amy was diagnosed with breast cancer, only decided to take part last week.

Mickelson will be with South Africa duo Ernie Els and Retief Goosen as he chases his maiden US Open triumph after four runners-up finishes.


"I'm not playing just to play," said Mickelson. "Bethpage is a golf course that suits my game. I love that course.

"Obviously, I'm playing because I believe I can win. That's the goal.

"My quest is to win my first US Open after four seconds, numerous close calls, me caring about this tournament so much.

"I'm just fortunate that I'm going to be able to play and I hope to play well. I know after that I've got something going on that's more important and takes my mind off it."

US Open officials decided against grouping the top three players in the world ranking, as they did last year at San Diego.

World number one Woods, going for his 15th major title, will also be hoping to match Jack Nicklaus, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones and Willie Anderson as the only four-time US Open champions.

The 33-year-old limped to victory in last year's US Open at Torrey Pines, defeating Rocco Mediate on the first sudden-death hole following an 18-hole playoff, then had left knee surgery that sidelined him for the next eight months.

Not since Curtis Strange in 1989 has a player won consecutive US Opens.

Tee-off times (all times BST, US unless stated)

Thursday 1st hole/Friday 10th hole

1200/1730 Rickie Fowler, Casey Wittenberg, Bo Van Pelt
1211/1741 Drew Weaver; Angelo Que (Phi), Simon Khan (Eng)
1222/1752 David Horsey (Eng), John Mallinger, Jose Manuel Lara (Sp)
1233/1803 Rory Sabbatini (SA), Martin Kaymer (Ger), Ryuji Imada (Jpn)
1244/1814 Vijay Singh (Fij), Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind), KJ Choi (Kor)
1255/1825 Ian Poulter (Eng), Justin Leonard, Robert Allenby (Aus)
1306/1836 Padraig Harrington (Ire), Angel Cabrera (Arg), Tiger Woods
1317/1847 Ryan Moore, Ben Crane, Eric Axley
1328/1858 Lee Westwood (Eng), Zach Johnson, Shingo Katayama (Jpn)
1339/1909 Bubba Watson, Johan Edfors (Swe), John Merrick
1350/1920 Francesco Molinari (It), George McNeill, Simon Dyson (Eng)
1401/1931 Cameron Tringale, Sean Farren, Andrew Parr (Can)
1412/1942 Vaughn Snyder, Ryan Spears, Michael Miles
1730/1200 James Nitties (Aus), Peter Tomasulo, Martin Laird (Sco)
1741/1211 David Smail (NZ), Cameron Beckman, Steve Allan (Aus)
1752/1222 JJ Henry, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano (Sp), Briny Baird
1803/1233 Kyle Stanley, Lucas Glover, DJ Trahan
1814/1244 JB Holmes, Alvaro Quiros (Sp), Nick Watney
1825/1255 Sergio Garcia (Sp), Camilo Villegas (Col), Adam Scott (Aus)
1836/1306 Justin Rose (Eng), Sean O'Hair, Ross Fisher (Eng)
1847/1317 Rocco Mediate, Kenny Perry, Tom Lehman
1858/1328 Hunter Mahan, Oliver Wilson (Eng), Brandt Snedeker
1909/1339 Billy Mayfair, Matt Kuchar, Ricky Barnes
1920/1350 Darron Stiles, Shintaro Kai (Jpn), Matthew Jones (Aus)
1931/1401 Tyson Alexander, Charlie Beljan, Ryan Blaum
1942/1412 Matt Nagy, Shawn Stefani, Douglas Batty (NZ)

Thursday 10th hole/Friday 1st hole

1200/1730 JP Hayes, Greg Kraft, Jeff Brehaut
1211/1741 Drew Kittleson, Sangmoon Bae (Kor), Michael Sim (Aus)
1221/1752 Heath Slocum, Charlie Wi (Kor), Richard Bland (Eng)
1233/1803 Ben Curtis, Graeme McDowell (NI), Chad Campbell
1244/1814 Andrew Svoboda, Henrik Stenson (Swe), Steve Stricker
1255/1825 Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Jim Furyk, Paul Casey (Eng)
1306/1836 Luke Donald (Eng), Trevor Immelman (SA), Tim Clark (SA)
1317/1847 Andres Romero (Arg), Eduardo Romero (Arg), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Sp)
1328/1858 Michael Campbell (NZ), Boo Weekley, Rod Pampling (Aus)
1339/1909 Kevin Sutherland, Dudley Hart, Ken Duke
1350/1920 Bronson Burgoon, Craig Bowden, Chris Kirk
1401/1731 Ben Martin, Josh McCumber, Kevin Silva
1412/1942 Josh Brock, Trevor Murphy, Nathan Tyler
1730/1200 Matt Bettencourt, James Kamte (SA), Kaname Yokoo (Jpn)
1741/1211 Nick Taylor (Can), Scott Gutschewski, Gary Woodland
1752/1222 Carl Pettersson (Swe), Azuma Yano (Jpn), Charl Schwartzel (SA)
1803/1233 David Duval, David Toms, Darren Clarke (NI)
1814/1244 Anthony Kim, Rory McIlroy (NI), Dustin Johnson
1825/1255 Steven Conway, Soren Hansen (Den), Peter Hanson (Swe)
1836/1306 Retief Goosen (SA), Ernie Els (SA), Phil Mickelson
1847/1317 Stuart Appleby (Aus), Fred Funk, Todd Hamilton
1858/1328 Mike Weir (Can), Stephen Ames (Can), Stewart Cink
1909/1339 Thomas Levet (Fr), Jean-Francois Lucquin (Fr), Raphael Jacquelin (Fr)
1920/1350 Andrew McLardy (SA), Chris Stroud, TBA
1931/1401 Clark Klaasen, Colby Beckstrom, Cameron Yancey
1942/1412 Kyle Peterman, Michael Welch, Cortland Lowe

Print Sponsor

see also
Woods offers support to Mickelson
16 Jun 09 |  Golf
Casey set for US Open challenge
18 Jun 09 |  Golf
Pinehurst to stage 2014 US Open
18 Jun 09 |  Golf
Karlsson out of US Open reckoning
12 Jun 09 |  Golf
Mickelson to compete in US Open
02 Jun 09 |  Golf
Cancer support lifts Mickelsons
28 May 09 |  Golf
Cancer fight for Mickelson's wife
20 May 09 |  Golf
Cabrera wins Masters in play-off
12 Apr 09 |  Golf
Superb Harrington clinches USPGA
11 Aug 08 |  Golf
Brilliant Harrington retains Open
20 Jul 08 |  Golf
Woods seals dramatic US Open win
16 Jun 08 |  Golf

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.