BBC Sport golf


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:28 GMT, Tuesday, 18 November 2008

Open star Wood secures Tour card


Wood relieved at securing card

Rookie Chris Wood, who finished fifth at the Open as an amateur, has earned his European Tour card for 2009.

The Bristol 20-year-old was among 32 players to earn cards, finishing the six-round Tour School on 15-under.

Rotherham's Danny Willett, who only turned pro in May, came fourth at PGA Golf de Catalunya, joined by fellow Englishmen Gary Clark and John Mellor.

Ex-Ryder Cup players Andrew Coltart (Scotland) and Joakim Haeggman (Sweden) also eased through.

Sweden's Oskar Henningsson won the event in Girona on 21 under.

In doing so he made history by becoming the first player to come through stages one and two of the qualifying school and go on to win the 108-hole final.

"To be the first guy to win coming through all three stages is a great achievement and it will give me a lot of confidence going into the new season," said the 23-year-old, who won by four strokes with a total score of 409.

Other British qualifiers were Scotland's Chris Doak, David Drysdale and Callum MaCaulay, Northern Ireland's Michael Hoey and Jonathan Caldwell and Wales' Stuart Manley.

Wood admitted that he was delighted to secure his playing card and revealed his relief that the week was over.

"I've worked really hard for this so I feel like I deserve everything I've achieved, but this does cap a pretty amazing year for me," he said.

"I wouldn't swap the Open for this or this for the Open - I would take both! At the time the Open was as good as golf can get, but knowing I have a full year on the Tour ahead of me is just as good.

"I'll enjoy tonight now - the pressure is off at last. It's a horrible week with all the pressure and everything that comes with it - I never want to come back here again!"

The 32 players who qualified for the 2009 European Tour:

Oskar Henningsson (Sweden)
Carlos Del Moral (Spain)
Wade Ormsby (Australia)
Danny Willett (England)
Joakim Haeggman (Sweden)
Chris Wood (England)
Eirik Tage Johansen (Norway)
Michael Hoey (Northern Ireland)
Ake Nilsson (Sweden)
Bernd Wiesberger (Austria)
Gary Clark (England)
Andrew Coltart (Scotland)
Chinnarat Phadungsil (Thailand)
Anthony Snobeck (France)
Chris Doak (Scotland)
David Drysdale (Scotland)
Lorenzo Gagli (Italy)
Matthew Millar (Australia)
Fabrizio Zanotti (Paraguay)
Michael Curtain (Australia)
Callum MaCauley (Scotland)
Marco Ruiz (Paraguay)
Inder van Weerelt (Netherlands)
Marc Cayeux (Zimbabwe)
Branden Grace (South Africa)
Stuart Manley (Wales)
John Mellor (England)
Henrik Nystrom (Sweden)
Jonathan Caldwell (Northern Ireland)
Federico Colombo (Italy)
Alfredo Garcia-Heredia (Spain)
Santiago Luna (Spain)

Print Sponsor

see also

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.