BBC Sport golf


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:46 GMT, Monday, 14 July 2008 13:46 UK

Harrington learns Open schedule

Defending Open champion Padraig Harrington
Harrington faces a tough task if he is to retain his Open title

Defending champion Padraig Harrington will play with Justin Leonard and Retief Goosen for the first two rounds of the Open at Royal Birkdale.

Leonard, the 1997 winner, and twice US Open champion Goosen will tee off with Harrington at 0758 BST on Thursday.

World number two Phil Mickelson, Paul Casey and Japan's Hideto Tanihara will begin their campaigns at 0920.

Ernie Els goes out at 0831 with American Scott Verplank and rising German star Martin Kaymer.

Spain's Sergio Garcia, runner-up in the European Open two weeks ago, has to wait until 1431 to begin his bid alongside Japan's Ryuji Imada and American Sean O'Hair.

Justin Rose has an early start on his return to the course where, as a 17-year-old amateur, he finished a spectacular fourth 10 years ago.

Rose's tee-off time is 0736 and he plays with five-time champion Tom Watson, winner at Birkdale in 1983, and Australian Aaron Baddeley.

Northern Ireland's Graeme McDowell, who triumphed in the Scottish Open at the weekend, partners 2004 winner Todd Hamilton and South African Rory Sabbatini at 1236.

Colin Montgomerie plays with Canadian left-hander Mike Weir and American Boo Weekley at 0931 and Lee Westwood is just over half an hour earlier with 2003 champion Ben Curtis and Korean KJ Choi.

The distinction of hitting the first shot - at 0630 - falls to Australian Craig Parry, while the last group of English qualifiers Jonathan Lomas and Peter Appleyard and Japan's Yoshinobu Tsukada are not scheduled to tee off until 1621.

Tee-off times for the first round of the 137th Open Championship at Royal Birkdale Golf Club, Southport on Thursday:

(GB & Ire unless stated, all times BST)

0630 Lucas Glover (US), Craig Parry (Aus), Simon Dyson
0641 Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (Fra), Pat Perez (US), Peter Fowler (Aus)
0652 Soren Kjeldsen (Den), Brendan Jones (Aus), Matt Kuchar (US)
0703 Jerry Kelly (US), Darren Fichardt (SA), Damien McGrane
0714 Graeme Storm, Scott Strange (Aus), Sandy Lyle
0725 Richard Green (Aus), Mark Calcavecchia (US), Anders Hansen (Den)
0736 Tom Watson (US), Justin Rose, Aaron Baddeley (Aus)
0747 Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Oliver Wilson, Davis Love III (US)
0758 Retief Goosen (SA), Padraig Harrington, Justin Leonard (US)
0809 Richard Sterne (SA), Henrik Stenson (Swe), Jeff Quinney (US)
0820 Hunter Mahan (US), Vijay Singh (Fij), Reinier Saxton (Ned)
0831 Martin Kaymer (Ger), Scott Verplank (US), Ernie Els (SA)
0842 David Howell, Andres Romero (Arg), JB Holmes (US)
0858 Lee Westwood, KJ Choi (Kor), Ben Curtis (US)
0909 Nick O'Hern (Aus), Ian Poulter, Paul Goydos (US)
0920 Phil Mickelson (US), Hideto Tanihara (Jpn), Paul Casey
0931 Boo Weekley (US), Colin Montgomerie, Mike Weir (Can)
0942 Toru Taniguchi (Jpn), Richard Finch, John Daly (US)
0953 David Duval (US), Simon Khan, David Frost (SA)
1004 Rich Beem (US), Pelle Edberg (Swe), Thomas Sherreard
1015 Michoi Matsumura (Jpn), Tom Gillis (US), Barry Hume
1026 Shintaro Kai (Jpn), Tim Petrovic (US), Dave Horsey
1037 Ariel Canete (Arg), Craig Barlow (US), Phillip Archer
1048 Jamie Elson, Rohan Blizard (Aus), Jon Bevan
1059 Adam Blyth (Aus), Jamie Howarth, Josh Cunliffe (SA)
1110 Thomas Aiken (SA), Gary Boyd, Brad Lamb (Aus)
1141 Jean Van de Velde (Fra), Steve Webster, Andrew Tampion (Aus)
1152 Philip Walton, David Smail (NZ), Michael Letzig (US)
1203 Paul Waring, Hennie Otto (SA), Kevin Stadler (US)
1214 Paul Lawrie, Rocco Mediate (US), Angel Cabrera (Arg)
1225 Niclas Fasth (Swe), Mark O'Meara (US), Michael Campbell (NZ)
1236 Graeme McDowell, Rory Sabbatini (SA), Todd Hamilton (US)
1247 Jim Furyk (US), Nick Dougherty, Camilo Villegas (Col)
1258 Robert Karlsson (Swe), Greg Norman (Aus), Woody Austin (US)
1309 Robert Allenby (Aus), Steve Stricker (US), Benjamin Hebert (Fra)
1320 Adam Scott (Aus), Zach Johnson (US), Pablo Larrazabal (Spa)
1331 Gregory Havret (Fra), Tim Clark (SA), Stewart Cink (US)
1342 Wen-chong Liang (Chn), Fredrik Jacobson (Swe), Jeff Overton (US)
1353 Trevor Immelman (SA), Soren Hansen (Den), Anthony Kim (US)
1409 Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), Stephen Ames (Can), Charles Howell III (US)
1420 Peter Hanson (Swe), Bart Bryant (US), Rodney Pampling (Aus)
1431 Ryuji Imada (Jpn), Sergio Garcia (Spa), Sean O'Hair (US)
1442 Stuart Appleby (Aus), Brandt Snedeker (US), Ross Fisher
1453 Azuma Yano (Jpn), Johan Edfors (Swe), Tom Lehman (US)
1504 Simon Wakefield, Jay Williamson (US), James Kingston (SA)
1515 Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Danny Chia (Mal), John Rollins (US)
1526 Prayad Marksaeng (Tha), Chris Wood, Scott McCarron (US)
1537 Anthony Wall, Alexander Noren (Swe), Ewan Porter (Aus)
1548 Peter Baker, Hiroshi Iwata (Jpn), Alex Cejka (Ger)
1559 Douglas Labelle (US), Chih-bing Lam (Sin), Jose-Filipe Lima (Por)
1610 Martin Wiegele (Aut), Angelo Que (Phi), Doug McGuigan
1621 Jonathan Lomas, Yoshinobu Tsukada (Jpn), Peter Appleyard

see also
Battle royal at Birkdale
11 Jul 08 |  Golf
Birkdale's Open history
14 Jul 08 |  Golf

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.