BBC Sport golf


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 11:53 GMT, Friday, 11 July 2008 12:53 UK

Open 2008 - Birkdale moments
Clockwise from top left: Peter Thomson, Lee Trevino, Tom Watson, Ian Baker-Finch, Johnny Miller, Arnold Palmer
Royal Birkdale has witnessed some great Open moments over the years.

Australian Peter Thomson won the first of his five Opens there in 1954 and added a second Birkdale title in 1965.

Arnold Palmer won the first of his back-to-back Open Championships at Birkdale in 1961, while Lee Trevino beat little-known Taiwanese Lu Liang Huan, known as Mr Lu, by one stroke in 1971.

American Johnny Miller won in 1976, while Tom Watson claimed his fifth Open in 1983.

Australian Ian Baker-Finch was the surprise winner in 1991 but his game then famously suffered an almost complete collapse.

see also
2007 Open in pictures
14 Jul 08 |  Golf

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.