Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 26 September 2007, 06:35 GMT 07:35 UK
Woods wins PGA Tour player award
Tiger Woods
Woods' Tour Championship victory was his 61st PGA Tour triumph
World number one Tiger Woods has been named PGA player of the year for the ninth time in 11 seasons.

Woods won seven titles including his 13th major at the US PGA Championship, and is now preparing for the Presidents Cup, which starts on Thursday.

Woods has been paired with good friend Charles Howell III for Thursday's opening foursomes.

The US duo will take on South Korea's KJ Choi and Australian left-hander Nick O'Hern of in the last match out.

Despite Woods' poor record in the competition, US captain Jack Nicklaus says he is a popular choice as partner.

"Tiger's record in fourball isn't good, but the 11 other players probably want to play with him," said Jack Nicklaus.

Woods has lost six and won just two fourball matches in his previous Presidents Cup appearances and Nicklaus added: "I think he won a match in Washington and we almost gave him a party.


"Tiger has asked to play with three different players and I'm going to try and honour that wish if I can, three different ways.

"But if I find he plays really well with one of them, I'm probably going to stick with that for a second time around."

The USA are the current holders of the Presidents Cup in which they compete against a non-European International team and they have won five of the six previous competitions.

This year's event starts with the fourballs on Thursday at the Royal Montreal Golf Club, the oldest club in north America, and there is another round of fourballs on Friday.

On Saturday there are greensomes in the morning and foursomes in the afternoon while the tournament finishes with the singles on Sunday.

Pairings for Thursday foursomes at the Presidents Cup (times BST):

1815 - Steve Stricker and Hunter Mahan (US) vs Geoff Ogilvy and Adam Scott (Int)
1825 - Phil Mickelson and Woody Austin (US) vs Vijay Singh and Mike Weir (Int)
1835 - Stewart Cink and Zach Johnson (US) vs Trevor Immelman and Rory Sabbatini (Int)
1845 - Jim Furyk and David Tom (US) vs. Ernie Els and Angel Cabrera (Int)
1855 - Scott Verplank and Lucas Glover (US) vs. Stuart Appleby and Retief Goosen (Int)
1905 - Tiger Woods and Charles Howell III (US) vs. K.J. Choi and Nick O'Hern (Int)



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us