Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 4 July, 2005, 15:05 GMT 16:05 UK
Teenager earns Walker Cup call
Golfer Oliver Fisher
Fisher is the holder of the Nick Faldo Junior Series title
Teenager Oliver Fisher will become the youngest ever player in Walker Cup history after being named in the GB and Ireland team for this year's event.

The 16-year-old, a semi-finalist in last month's British amateur championship, will beat Justin Rose's record set in 1997.

The match against the United States takes place at Chicago Golf Club, Illinois on 13 and 14 August.

2003 stars Gary Wolstenholme and Nigel Edwards are also named on the team.

Fisher, who was runner-up in the English stroke play championship in May, will be one month and 10 days younger than Rose when he tees off.

Wolstenholme will be playing in his sixth Walker Cup while Edwards will be making his third appearance in the competition and he is joined by fellow Welshman Rhys Davies.

Scotland are represented by Lloyd Saltman and Richie Ramsay, Ireland by British champion Brian McElhinney and England by Wolstenholme, Fisher, Gary Lockerbie, Matthew Richardson and Robert Dinwiddie.

Dinwiddie, who was not part of the six-man side which won the European team title on Saturday, claimed back-to-back wins in the Scottish and Welsh stroke play championships.

He recently graduated from Tennessee State University and, with six wins on the college circuit, was ranked the number one English golfer in the States.

Chairman of selectors Peter McEvoy remains confident his side can record a fourth win in a row in the competition.

"At the beginning of the season we lost a few players to the professional ranks (most notably James Heath) and I was concerned about the strength of the side," he said.

"However, many players have improved enormously and have had successful seasons as a consequence. This team, I believe, is a very, very strong one."

GB and Ireland team: Rhys Davies (Royal Porthcawl), Robert Dinwiddie (Barnard Castle), Nigel Edwards (Whitchurch), Oliver Fisher (West Essex), Gary Lockerbie (Penrith) Brian McElhinney (North West), Richie Ramsay (Royal Aberdeen), Matthew Richardson (Buckinghamshire) Lloyd Saltman (Craigielaw), Gary Wolstenholme (Kilworth Springs). Reserves: Andrew McArthur (Windyhill), Jamie Moul (Stoke-by-Nayland). Captain: Garth McGimpsey (Bangor)

McGimpsey retains captaincy
02 Oct 03 |  Golf
GB & Ire retain Walker Cup
07 Sep 03 |  Golf

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport