Colin Montgomerie insists that he did nothing wrong at the Indonesian Open despite accusations he broke the rules.
Monty has weathered some fierce criticism from Gary Evans
The Scot escaped punishment but donated his prize money to charity after admitting he replaced his ball in the wrong place after play had been halted.
However, he insists his decision to give back the money should not be seen as "an admission of guilt".
"That was a gesture on my behalf because I wasn't happy with what I saw," said the 41-year-old.
Tour stalwart Gary Evans was critical of Montgomerie's actions, claiming they "compromised the integrity of our game".
Those comments in turn upset European Tour tournament committee chairman Jamie Spence.
"I think the timing of Gary's comments was poor, I'm disappointed," said Spence.
But the Englishman told Evans there was no need to apologise.
"I spoke at length with Gary, he didn't apologise and I didn't expect him to," said Spence.
"It's a free world. I want the members to be able to say what they want but say it to us, or George [O'Grady, European Tour's chief executive].
"In hindsight, maybe I should have explained in more detail the decision we came to at the committee meeting at the Forest of Arden."
Montgomerie said he was not penalised for the infraction at the time because the referee, Jose Maria Zamora, did not regard the mistake as serious enough to warrant a penalty.
But John Paramor, the European Tour's chief referee, said if he had been in charge Montgomerie would have been penalised two strokes.
Montgomerie tied for fourth in Indonesia, earning enough points to qualify for the US Open in Pinehurst, North Carolina.