Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 16 November, 2004, 17:38 GMT
Ryder Cup stars set for World Cup
Paul Casey at the Ryder Cup
Paul Casey helped Europe crush the United States at Oakland Hills
England and Ireland will be among the favourites to win golf's World Cup, which starts in Seville on Thursday.

England's Luke Donald and Paul Casey team up just two months after helping Europe to a stunning Ryder Cup victory.

Cup colleagues Padraig Harrington, the highest ranked player in the event, and Paul McGinley have represented Ireland for the eight successive year.

In the absence of their top stars, Scott Verplank and Bob Tway will be playing for the United States.

Hosts Spain have Sergio Garcia and Miguel Angel Jimenez and, with the world's top seven players all missing, will fancy their chances of winning the title.

Scotland will be represented by PGA champion Scott Drummond and Alastair Forsyth after Colin Montgomerie opted to play in an over-40s tournament in America.

Phillip Price and Bradley Dredge team up for Wales.

South Africans Trevor Immelman and Rory Sabbatini, who won last year's tournament by four strokes from England's Casey and Justin Rose at Kiawah Island, will launch their defence in Thursday's opening fourball format.

Friday will feature foursomes, or alternate shot, action before the format switches back to fourballs on Saturday and then to foursomes on the final day.

The World Cup will be contested by 24 nations with minimum prize money of $4m.

Teams: Argentina (Eduardo Romero, Angel Cabrera); Australia (Stephen Leaney, Nick O'Hern); Austria (Markus Brier, Martin Wiegele); Canada (Stuart Anderson, Darren Griff); Colombia (Manuel Merizalde, Jose Garrido); Denmark (Anders Hansen, Soren Kjeldsen); England (Paul Casey, Luke Donald); France (Raphael Jacquelin, Thomas Levet); Germany (Marcel Siem, Kariem Baraka); Ireland (Padraig Harrington, Paul McGinley); Italy (Allesandro Tadini, Andrea Maestroni); Japan (Shigeki Maruyama, Hidemichi Tanaka); Mexico (Pablo del Olmo, Alejandro Quiroz); Myanmar (Kyi Hla Han, Soe Kyaw Naing); Netherlands (Robert-Jan Derksen, Maarten Lafeber); New Zealand (David Smail, Craig Perks); Scotland (Scott Drummond, Alastair Forsyth); South Africa (Trevor Immelman, Rory Sabbatini); South Korea (Kim Dae-sub, Shin Yong-jin); Spain (Sergio Garcia, Miguel Angel Jimenez); Sweden (Frederik Jacobson, Joakim Haeggman); Taiwan (Wang Ter-Chang, Lu Wei-Chih); United States (Bob Tway, Scott Verplank); Wales (Bradley Dredge, Phillip Price)

Europe win Ryder Cup
19 Sep 04 |  Ryder Cup
South Africa win World Cup
16 Nov 03 |  Golf

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport