Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 5 July, 2004, 13:46 GMT 14:46 UK
Royal Troon's champions
Justin Leonard
Leonard enjoys his moment on golf's greatest stage
This year's edition of golf's oldest championship will be staged at one of Scotland's finest venues, Royal Troon.

Since hosting its first in 1923, the Ayrshire links has hosted six more Opens, with the last coming in 1997.

Justin Leonard was the winner that time, and he joined a roll of honour at Royal Troon that includes two of the greatest golfers to play the game.

Five-time Open champion Tom Watson won here in 1982, and in 1962 Arnold Palmer won the second of his two Open titles.

The other players to win Open titles at Royal Troon are Bobby Locke, four times a "champion golfer", Arthur Havers, Tom Weiskopf and Mark Calcavecchia.

Havers claimed Troon's first Open in 1923. The Englishman, who finished fourth at St Andrews the year before, held off defending champion Walter Hagen for victory.

1923 Arthur Havers (Eng)
73-73-73-76 295
1950 Bobby Locke (SA)
69-72-70-68 279
1962 Arnold Palmer (US)
71-69-67-69 276
1973 Tom Weiskopf (US)
68-67-71-70 276
1982 Tom Watson (US)
69-71-74-70 284
1989 Mark Calcavecchia (US)
71-68-68-68 275
1997 Justin Leonard (US)
69-66-72-65 272
South Africa's Locke became the first player to break 280 for the four rounds when he won in 1950.

Locke was strong from tee to green, but it was on Troon's legendary putting surfaces that his victory was forged, so much so that he would send the club a Christmas card every year with the same message: "Still the best greens in the world."

In 1962, the popular Palmer successfully defended the title he won at Royal Birkdale in 1961.

Weiskopf won his only major at Troon in 1973 - the American was a frequent bridesmaid at the big events but this time finished three strokes ahead of Johnny Miller and Neil Coles.

Watson won his fourth of five Open titles in 1982, pipping England's Peter Oosterhuis by a shot.

Seven years later, Troon witnessed another nail-biting finale when Calcavecchia triumphed in the Open's first four-hole play-off.

Greg Norman carded a course-record 64 to secure his place in the play-off with Calcavecchia and Wayne Grady, but the Australian's luck ran out and Calcavecchia claimed his only major title.

And in 1997, Leonard made up five shots on Jesper Parnevik on Sunday to make it five straight American winners at Royal Troon.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport