Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 16 November, 2003, 21:27 GMT
South Africa win World Cup
South Africa win the World Cup for fifth time
-13 South Africa
-9 England
-8 France
-6 Germany
-4 Ireland, USA
-2 ScotIand
Level Wales
South Africa duo Rory Sabbatini and Trevor Immelman held their nerve to win the WGC-World Cup at Kiawah Island.

They began Sunday's final round with a massive seven-shot lead and carded a one-over round of 73 to finish four clear on 275.

But their advantage was eroded by some superb play by the England pair Justin Rose and Paul Casey, whose five-under-par round of 67 earned them second place.

France finished third at eight-under, followed by Germany, with Ireland and the USA further adrift.

It was South Africa's fifth World Cup win in the event's 50-year history and the first since Ernie Els and Retief Goosen claimed victory in 2001.

Afterwards, Immelman, who is due to marry on 6 December, said: "We did really well to hang in there on the front nine and our games came together well on the back nine.

We just wanted to beat France twice in one day
Paul Casey

"We both played well and holed the vital putts and that's what kept us in it and kept the momentum.

"I hope my fiancee and all the family were watching back in South Africa."

Englishman Paul Casey was philosophical in defeat.

"South Africa were 10 ahead of us at the start of the day so realistically we were looking for second, and just wanted to beat France twice in one day," he said, referring to England's semi-final victory over France at the Rugby World Cup.

"We've played the foursomes really well and it's frustrating we haven't played the fourballs better."

Teams: (in alphabetical order)

Argentina: Eduardo Romero/Angel Cabrera
Australia: Stuart Appleby/Stephen Leaney
Chile: Felipe Aguilar/Roy Mackenzie
Denmark: Soren Kjeldsen/Anders Hansen
England: Paul Casey/Justin Rose
France: Thomas Levet/RaphaŽl Jacquelin
Germany: Alex Cejka/Marcel Siem
Hong Kong: Derek Fung/James Stewart
India: Digvijay Singh/Gaurav Ghei
Ireland: Padraig Harrington/Paul McGinley
Japan: Shigeki Maruyama/Hidemichi Tanaka
Korea: K.J. Choi/S.K. Ho
Mexico: Alejandro Quiroz/Antonio Maldonado
Myanmar: Kyi Hla Han/Aung Win
New Zealand: Michael Campbell/David Smail
Paraguay: Carlos Franco/Marco Ruiz
Scotland: Paul Lawrie/Alastair Forsyth
South Africa: Trevor Immelman/Rory Sabbatini
Spain: Ignacio Garrido/Miguel Angel Jimenez
Sweden: Fredrik Jacobson/Niclas Fasth
Thailand: Jamnian Chitprasong/Pornsakon Tipsanit
Trinidad & Tobago: Stephen Ames/Robert Ames
United States: Jim Furyk/Justin Leonard
Wales: Bradley Dredge/Ian Woosnam

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport