Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
UK version International version About the versions|Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 25 December 2005, 07:58 GMT
Brazil 'best ever' says Five Live
Pele, star of Brazil's 1970 World Cup-winning side
The legendary Brazil side which won the 1970 World Cup has been voted the greatest team of all time by BBC Radio Five Live listeners.

The Brazil team beat the Liverpool side which won the European Cup in 1977, 1978 and 1981 into second.

Real Madrid's five-time European Cup winners (1956-60) were third, ahead of England's 1966 World Cup winners.

The first non-football team was the England side which won the 2003 Rugby World Cup in seventh place.

Two cricket teams made the top 10, with the all-conquering Australia cricket side of the past decade edging out England's 2005 Ashes victors for ninth place.

The winning Brazil team contained legendary figures such as Pele, Rivelino, Jairzinho, Gérson, and Tostão.

They beat Italy 4-1 in what is considered the best World Cup with Pele, who scored one goal, setting up Carlos Alberto for the stunning final effort.

Football unless stated
1. Brazil 1970
2. Liverpool 1977-81
3. Real Madrid 1956-60
4. England's 1966 World Cup winners
5. Celtic European Cup winners 1967
6. Manchester United treble side 1999
7. England Rugby World Cup winners 2003
8. Arsenal's 'Invincibles' 2003-04
9. Australia cricket team 1995-2005
10. England's Ashes winners 2005
11. GB four rowing champions Sydney 2000
12. West Indies cricket side 1980s
13. France 1998-2000
14. New Zealand rugby union team 1980s
15. Wales rugby union team 1970s
16. Nottingham Forest 1979-80
17. US Postal cycling team 2004
18. Manchester United 1968
19. Hungary 1950s
20. Ferrari F1 team 2003

Liverpool's three-time European Cup winners were the stand-out side in an era when English clubs dominated European football.

Under the astute guidance of manger Bob Paisley, the likes of Kevin Keegan, Kenny Dalglish and Emlyn Hughes entered English football folklore.

The two were some way clear of the rest of the field.

After Real's five-time European champions and England's boys of '66 came Celtic's European Cup champions of 1967.

The Manchester United treble-winning team from 1999 finished sixth, ahead of the England rugby union team from 2003 and Arsenal's "Invincibles" from the 2003-04 season.

After the Australia and England cricket teams came the Sir Steve Redgrave-inspired coxless four which won Olympic rowing gold in Sydney 2000.

The dominant West Indies cricket team of the 1980s came 12th, ahead of the French football team which lifted the 1998 World Cup and became European champions two years later.

The top 15 is rounded out by two rugby union teams, the New Zealand side which dominated the 1980s and the Welsh side which dazzled a decade earlier.

The results were announced on BBC Radio Five Live on Christmas Eve in a special programme presented by Mark Saggers.

Five Live listeners ranked their top five teams from a list of 32 selected by a panel of experts between 17 November and 1 December.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport