Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepage feedback | low graphics version
BBC Sport Online
You are in: Football: Worthington Cup  
Front Page 
Eng Prem 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Worthington Cup 
Scot Prem 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Results &  Fixtures 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 

Around The Uk

banner Tuesday, 26 September, 2000, 19:30 GMT 20:30 UK
Portsmouth 1-1 Blackburn (Agg: 1-5)

Pompey boss Tony Pulis could not spark a fightback
Blackburn had little difficulty in defending their huge four-goal advantage from the first leg and strolled comfortably into the third round of the Worthington Cup with a 1-1 draw at Fratton Park.

Blackburn manager Graeme Souness took the opportunity to rest most of his first teamers and gave five fringe players their first starts of the season.

One of those, goalkeeper Alan Miller, kept Blackburn in control with a diving save in the 13th minute to keep out a low shot from Portsmouth striker Lee Mills.

Pompey's Shaun Derry also hit a post with a free-kick from the edge of the area in first-half injury-time but they were rare moments of concern for a young and inexperienced Blackburn side.

Portsmouth could not be faulted for effort but it was not until manager Tony Pulis sent on teenage striker Luke Nightingale that they scored a consolation.

Danish midfielder Thomas Thogersen had a shot blocked on the edge of the area but the rebound fell into the path of Nightingale who scored with a right-foot shot from 12-yards in the 78th minute.

Blackburn equalised on the night with two minutes remaining with a soft goal.

David Dunn cut in from the left and his tame right-foot shot from the edge of the area eluded goalkeeper Russell Hoult as he dived to his left.

Portsmouth: Hoult, Primus, Derry, Moore, Bradbury, Hughes, Quashie, Thogersen, Waterman, Mills. Subs: Hiley, Rudonja, Flahavan, Nightingale, O'Neil, Miglioranzi.

Blackburn: Miller, Kenna, Grayson, Dailly, M. Taylor, Dunn, McAteer, Carsley, Johnson, Burgess, Ostenstad. Subs: Filan, Curtis, Broomes, Hamilton, O'Brien.

Referee: M Fletcher (Warley).

Search BBC Sport Online
Advanced search options
Internet links:

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Links to top Worthington Cup stories are at the foot of the page.

Links to other Worthington Cup stories

^^ Back to top