BBC Sport world-cup-2010

Will England go for a major overhaul or minor surgery after a dismal World Cup campaign?
Mothballing of youth development report illustrates problems facing England
Champions Italy need a win to qualify for the last 16
Dan Walker on an emotional visit to a South African orphanage
Can Sebastian Abreu take centre stage in World Cup semi-final?
Covering sport has changed forever, says James Pearce
Page last updated at 11:43 GMT, Tuesday, 1 June 2010 12:43 UK

World Cup 2010: Greece boss Otto Rehhagel names squad


World Cup guide - Greece

Greece manager Otto Rehhagel has named his final 23-man squad for the World Cup in South Africa.

Liverpool defender Sotiris Kyrgiakos and Celtic striker Giorgos Samaras have both been picked.

Greece shocked the football world when they won the European Championships in 2004 but they have been unable to follow up that success.

They failed to qualify for the 2006 World Cup and lost all three games in the 2008 European Championships.

They made it to South Africa after beating Ukraine in a play-off, having finished second to Switzerland in their group.

BBC Sport's Chris Summers

They will be relying heavily on goals from Hertha Berlin's Theofanis Gekas, who scored 10 during the qualification campaign.

Rehhagel left AEK Athens midfielder Grigoris Makos and Panionios defender Giorgos Tzavelas out of his final squad.

Greece squad:

Goalkeepers: Michalis Sifakis (Aris Salonika), Alexandros Tzorvas (Panathinaikos), Kostas Chalkias (PAOK Salonika).

Defenders: Giorgos Seitaridis (Panathinaikos), Loukas Vintra (Panathinaikos), Evangelos Moras (Bologna), Socrates Papastathopoulos (Genoa), Sotiris Kyrgiakos (Liverpool), Avraam Papadopoulos (Olympiakos), Vasilis Torosidis (Olympiakos), Nikos Spiropoulos (Panathinaikos), Stelios Malezas (PAOK Salonika).

Midfielders: Kostas Katsouranis (Panathinaikos), Alexandros Tziolis (Siena), Giorgos Karagounis (Panathinaikos), Sotiris Ninis (Panathinaikos), Christos Patsatzoglou (Omonia), Sakis Prittas (Aris Salonika).

Forwards: Angelos Charisteas (Nuremberg), Dimitris Salpigidis (Panathinaikos), Pantelis Kapetanos (Steaua Bucharest), Theofanis Gekas (Hertha Berlin), Giorgos Samaras (Celtic).

Print Sponsor

see also
Greece keep faith with Rehhagel
17 Jun 08 |  Greece

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites