BBC Sport world-cup-2010

Will England go for a major overhaul or minor surgery after a dismal World Cup campaign?
Mothballing of youth development report illustrates problems facing England
Champions Italy need a win to qualify for the last 16
Dan Walker on an emotional visit to a South African orphanage
Can Sebastian Abreu take centre stage in World Cup semi-final?
Covering sport has changed forever, says James Pearce
Page last updated at 10:58 GMT, Friday, 28 May 2010 11:58 UK

World Cup 2010: Celtic's Rasmussen left out by Denmark


World Cup guide - Denmark

Celtic striker Morten Rasmussen will not be part of Denmark's World Cup plans after he was left out of coach Morten Olsen's final 23-man squad.

But Olsen has included Stoke goalkeeper Thomas Sorensen and Palermo defender Simon Kjaer despite the pair suffering from injuries.

Olsen has also dropped keeper Kim Christensen and midfielders Michael Silberbauer and Michael Krohn-Dehli.

Denmark are in Group E with Holland, Japan and Cameroon.

Sorensen is recovering after dislocating his elbow on 26 April against Chelsea, while Kjaer picked up a knee injury in a friendly match against Senegal last Thursday.


Other British-based players in the squad are Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Lars Jacobsen (Blackburn) and Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal).

But there was no room for Rasmussen who was on the stand-by list to travel to South Africa.

Former Chelsea player Jesper Gronkjaer also made the final 23, as has former Newcastle striker Jon Dahl Tomasson. A surprise inclusion is Malaga defender Patrick Mtiliga, who last played for Denmark in November 2008.

"With the move from NAC Breda to Malaga he went to a better club and a better league," said Olsen.

"We believe Patrick is the perfect fit for the type of opposition we will face."

Denmark squad:
Goalkeepers: Thomas Sorensen (Stoke City), Stephan Andersen (Brondby), Jesper Christiansen (FC Copenhagen).

Defenders: William Kvist (FC Copenhagen), Simon Kjaer (Palermo), Lars Jacobsen (Blackburn Rovers), Per Kroldup (Fiorentina), Daniel Agger (Liverpool), Patrick Mtigliga (Malaga), Simon Poulsen (AZ Alkmaar).

Midfielders: Martin Jorgensen (AGF Aarhus), Christian Poulsen (Juventus), Jakob Poulsen (AGF Aarhus), Dennis Rommedahl (Ajax Amsterdam), Thomas Kahlenberg (VfL Wolfsburg), Thomas Enevoldsen (FC Groningen), Christian Eriksen (Ajax Amsterdam), Mikkel Beckmann (Randers), Daniel Jensen (Werder Bremen), Jesper Gronkjaer (FC Copenhagen).

Forwards: Jon Dahl Tomasson (Feyenoord), Soren Larsen (Toulouse), Nicklas Bendtner (Arsenal).

Print Sponsor

see also
Sorensen targets World Cup return
27 Apr 10 |  World Cup 2010
Rasmussen completes Celtic switch
26 Jan 10 |  Celtic
Agger cautious on return to form
20 Oct 09 |  Liverpool

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2018 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.