BBC Sport world-cup-2010

Will England go for a major overhaul or minor surgery after a dismal World Cup campaign?
Mothballing of youth development report illustrates problems facing England
Champions Italy need a win to qualify for the last 16
Dan Walker on an emotional visit to a South African orphanage
Can Sebastian Abreu take centre stage in World Cup semi-final?
Covering sport has changed forever, says James Pearce
Page last updated at 14:30 GMT, Thursday, 27 May 2010 15:30 UK

Van Persie, Babel and Kuyt in Dutch World Cup squad


The Netherlands' World Cup qualifying highlights

Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk has named his final 23-man squad for the World Cup after dropping four players.

Defenders Vurnon Anita and Ron Vlaar as well as midfielder Orlando Engelaar and forward Jeremain Lens have been cut.

Six British-based players are in the squad, including Ryan Babel and Dirk Kuyt from Liverpool.

Celtic defender Edson Braafheid, John Heitinga from Everton, Manchester City midfielder Nigel de Jong and Robin van Persie from Arsenal are given the nod.

Left-back Anita's omission came just a day after he made his international debut as a second-half substitute during the Netherland's 2-1 win over Mexico in a warm-up match in Germany.


Centre-back Vlaar forced his way into the preliminary squad after an impressive season with Feyenoord but was unable to seal a place in the final party.

Midfielder Lens was a surprise inclusion in the original squad and Van Marwijk has opted to take Babel instead.

PSV Eindhoven forward Otman Bakkal and midfielders Wout Brama (FC Twente) and David Mendes Da Silva (AZ Alkmaar) were all omitted from an original 30-man squad 10 days ago.

Former Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy was not considered.

The Dutch, who have yet to win the World Cup despite reaching two finals in 1974 and 1978, have been drawn in Group E alongside Denmark, Japan and Cameroon.

They are due to play friendlies against Ghana (1 June) and Hungary (5 June).

Squad: Maarten Stekelenburg (Ajax), Sander Boschker (FC Twente), Michel Vorm (FC Utrecht); Khalid Boulahrouz (Stuttgart), Edson Braafheid (Celtic), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Feyenoord), John Heitinga (Everton), Joris Mathijsen (HSV), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax), Andre Ooijer (PSV); Mark van Bommel (Bayern Munich), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Stijn Schaars (AZ), Wesley Sneijder (Inter), Rafael van der Vaart (Real Madrid), Demy de Zeeuw (Ajax), Ibrahim Afellay (PSV); Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Eljero Elia (HSV), Ryan Babel (Liverpool), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (AC Milan), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich).

Print Sponsor

see also
Hamburg seal Van Nistelrooy deal
23 Jan 10 |  Europe
Van Nistelrooy targets Dutch spot
03 Sep 09 |  Internationals

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites