Luis Figo can play in Saturday's World Cup quarter-final against England after Fifa ruled out further action for a head butt on Holland's Mark van Bommel.
Van Bommel and Figo went head to head on Sunday
The Portugal skipper was booked and, because referee Valentin Ivanov took action, Fifa will not intervene.
It had been suggested that Fifa could upgrade Figo's yellow card to a red for his deliberate headbutt on Van Bommel.
But Fifa communications director Markus Siegler said: "He was sanctioned by the referee at the time."
He added: "The referee's report is being analysed but it is very unlikely anything will happen as he has been sanctioned."
Van Bommel, commenting on the incident, had said: "Figo headbutted me and that is not a yellow card. I blame the referee, it was a clear red card."
But Siegler said: "It is only where there is a clear disciplinary issue, which has not been acted upon by the referee, that the disciplinary committee can look at it."
Figo was later involved in more controversy when his tangle with Khalid Boulahrouz led to the Holland defender being dismissed for a second yellow card.
However, Scolari defended Figo, saying: "Jesus said we should turn the other cheek. Unfortunately, Figo is not Jesus Christ."
Meanwhile, the coach also confirmed he would not appeal against Costinha's red card.