Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 13 April 2006, 02:45 GMT 03:45 UK
Trinidad announce World Cup squad
Trinidad and Tobago captain Dwight Yorke
Yorke's experience will be crucial for the Soca Warriors in Germany
Trinidad and Tobago, England's second opponents in the World Cup group stages, have announced a provisional 24-man squad for the tournament.

But coach Leo Beenhakker will have to trim the squad by one player.

Former Manchester United star Dwight Yorke, now with Sydney, will captain the Soca Warriors.

British-based players in the squad include Coventry's Stern John, Port Vale's Chris Birchall, West Ham's Shaka Hislop and Falkirik's Russell Latapy.

"Before making the final choice, we did our homework the best we could," said Beenhakker.

"I have to protect the players also who brought us to Germany. They have to be credited and there must be balance in the team.

"I want to thank specially all the players who are not on the list but were on the road to Germany and I understand for the moment I have made 24 players happy.

"I understand much better that I have disappointed now many players from Trinidad and Tobago but I can assure them that the decisions we made were made in relation to looking for the best of the team."

Trinidad and Tobago provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Kelvin Jack (Dundee), Shaka Hislop (West Ham), Clayton Ince (Coventry City)

Defenders: Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham) Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Marvin Andrews (Rangers), Brent Sancho (Gillingham), Ian Cox (Gillingham), Atiba Charles (W Connection), Avery John (New England Revolution).

Midfielders: Silvio Spann (unattached), Chris Birchall (Port Vale), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Anthony Rougier (United Petrotrin), Anthony Wolfe (San Juan Jabloteh), Densill Theobald (Falkirk), Carlos Edwards (Luton), Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Russell Latapy (Falkirk).

Forwards: Stern John (Coventry), Kenwyne Jones (Southampton), Collin Samuel (Dundee United), Jason Scotland (St Johnstone), Cornell Glen (LA Galaxy)

On stand-by: Brent Rahim (Jabloteh), Anton Pierre (Defence Force) Anthony Warner (Fulham), Nigel Henry (Kiruna FF), Ricky Shakes (Swindon), Hector Sam (Port Vale) Scott Sealy (Kansas Wizards).

Trinidad & Tobago
30 Nov 05 |  Team guides


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us