BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:38 GMT, Sunday, 2 May 2010 22:38 UK

Davis crowned player of the year

Steven Davis, Walter Smith and Danny Wilson with their awards
Davis, Smith and Wilson won the three main awards

Midfielder Steven Davis has been crowned Scottish Premier League player of the year as champions Rangers dominated the PFA Scotland awards.

Walter Smith was named manager of the year, with defender Danny Wilson being voted top young player.

Rangers have not only retained the title but won the League Cup this term.

Davis beat team-mates David Weir and Kris Boyd to the award, as well as Dundee United captain Andy Webster, who is on loan at Tannadice from Ibrox.

And Smith, who added his award to the Scottish Football Writers' Association and Scottish Premier League gongs this season, was full of praise for the 25-year-old Northern Ireland international who joined Rangers in August 2008 from Fulham for a fee of about £3m.

Steven's a quiet lad, but he's got a great deal of determination about him

Rangers manager Walter Smith

"He's been, without a doubt, an outstanding player for us this season," said the manager.

"I ask him to play slightly out of position and he does so without complaining.

"He's a quiet lad, but he's got a great deal of determination about him."

Player of the year in Division One was striker Adam Rooney, whose goals have helped Inverness Caledonian Thistle to the title and promotion.

The Second Division award went to Brechin City striker Rory McAllister.

Livingston striker Robbie Winters was Division Three player of the year after helping the West Lothian side to their title and promotion.

Meanwhile, there were special merit awards for veteran football commentators Archie Macpherson and Arthur Montford.

SPL player of the year: Steven Davis (Rangers)
Young player of the year: Danny Wilson (Rangers)
First Division player of the year: Adam Rooney (Inverness)
Second Division player of the year: Rory McAllister (Brechin)
Third Division player of the year: Robbie Winters (Livingston)
Manager of the year: Walter Smith (Rangers)
Goal of the Season: Madjid Bougherra (RANGERS v Dundee United, 30 December)
Special Merit Award: Archie Macpherson and Arthur Montford

Print Sponsor

see also
Fulham's Davis loaned to Rangers
31 Jan 08 |  Rangers
Hibernian 0-1 Rangers
25 Apr 10 |  Scottish Premier
St Mirren 0-1 Rangers
21 Mar 10 |  Scottish Cups
Liverpool lead chase for Wilson
05 Apr 10 |  Rangers

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites