BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:39 GMT, Thursday, 6 May 2010 14:39 UK

Gateshead release nine players ahead of full-time move

Ian Bogie
Bogie has released nine players as part of his squad rebuilding

Gateshead have released nine contracted players as they prepare for a switch to full-time status during the 2010-11 Blue Square Premier season.

Boss Ian Bogie has released two members of the club's 2008-09 promotion side, with goalkeeper Jim Provett and midfielder Wayne Phillips leaving.

Pre-season signings Phil Cave, Chris Swailes, Neale McDermott and Steven Richardson have also departed.

Wayne Buchanan, James Sinclair and Andy Parkinson are the other three to leave.

Loanees Gavin Hurren of Tamworth and Rikki Bains of Darlington ended their spells with the club at the end of the season.

Bogie's moves to strengthen his squad have seen former Scunthorpe winger Peter Winn, who enjoyed a spell with Gateshead last season, as well as Paul Heckingbottom offered permanent deals at the International Stadium.

Gateshead players offered new deals: Paul Farman, Craig Baxter, Paul Heckingbottom, James Curtis, Carl Jones, Martin Brittain, Kris Gate. Andy Ferrell, Alex Francis, Phil Turnbull, Peter Winn, Graeme Armstrong, Daryl Clare, Brian Wake, Steven Baptist.

Print Sponsor


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.