Scotland Wales Northern Ireland
BBC Homepagefeedback | low graphics version

You are in: You are in: Football: Teams: East Stirlingshire  
Front Page 
FA Cup 
Eng Prem 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
League of Wales 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

Saturday, 4 August, 2001, 01:36 GMT 02:36 UK
Shire's summer ins and outs
Steven Hislop has left for Ross County
Steven Hislop has left for Ross County
BBC Sport Online keeps you up to date with who is leaving or joining East Stirlingshire's Scottish League Division Three campaign.

Brian Ross's last act of the summer break was to bring in striker Derek Lyle on a one-month loan from Partick Thistle.

Ross had lost top scorer Steve Hislop to Ross County and had earlier brought in David Menelaws from Stenhousemuir as a replacement.

Experienced goalkeeper Jim Butter also left for Montrose.

Shire's other main summer capture was midfielder Sean McAuley from Clyde.

Ross has handed David Wood and Paul Lindsey three-month deals as a last-chance gesture to prove themselves.

But he also brought in several young players from the junior and juvenile ranks to bolster his campaign.

Ross told the club's website: ''Changes have to be made and they will be because it's been far too long since this club and its supporters have been able to celebrate any success.

"While I'll be working on a limited budget, I'm confident there are players out there that I can afford and, more importantly, will represent good value for money.

"I want players here who want to be successful, players who have a genuine desire to make a name for themselves.''

In: Sean McAuley (midfield, Clyde), David Menelaws (forward, Stenhousemuir), David Hay (goalkeeper), Alan Aitken, Cameron Aitchison, David McPherson, Craig Reid, Chris Sproule, Chris Todd, John Wilson, Ross Simpson, David Connelly, Roddy Maughan, Gary McCulloch, Graeme McLaren, David O'Hare.

Re-signed: David Wood, Paul Lindsay

Out: Steve Hislop (forward, Ross County), Jim Butter (goalkeeper, Montrose), Joe Tortolano (defence), Gary Higgins (forward), Chris McKenzie (forward), John Clarke (defence), Dean McPherson (midfield) and Steven Stewart (midfield).

Links to more East Stirlingshire stories are at the foot of the page.


E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more East Stirlingshire stories

^^ Back to top