BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 13:36 GMT, Monday, 7 April 2008 14:36 UK

Celtic trio on awards shortlist

Scott McDonald
McDonald has scored 26 times in his debut season at Celtic

Celtic players Aiden McGeady, Scott McDonald and Barry Robson have been shortlisted for the PFA Scotland Player of the Year award.

The fourth player to complete the candidate list is Rangers' Spanish defender Carlos Cuellar.

McGeady has also been included in the young player of the year category.

He is joined by Falkirk midfielder Scott Arfield, Hibernian forward Steven Fletcher, Motherwell's Ross McCormack and Dundee midfielder Kevin McDonald.

Every footballer affiliated to the Professional Footballers' Association Scotland is eligible to vote, with the winners to be announced on 20 April.

"This is the top award for players," said PFA Scotland chief executive Fraser Wishart.

"There is no greater honour in football than to be voted the best player in your country by your fellow professionals."


The PFA Scotland took over this season from the Scottish Professional Footballers' Association as the country's union for football players.

Last year's winner was Celtic's Japanese international midfielder Shunsuke Nakamura.

The young player award went to Steven Naismith, then of Kilmarnock.

see also
Celtic 0-1 Motherwell
05 Apr 08 |  Scottish Premier

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.