BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:44 GMT, Saturday, 24 April 2010 16:44 UK

Welsh Premier/non-League round-up


Welsh Premier

Aberystwyth Town 1-3 The New Saints (Sat):
TNS won their fourth title in six years as they ended Aberystwyth European dreams at Park Avenue.

Chris Sharp's double and a strike from former Wales defender Steve Evans sealed the victory and extended TNS' unbeaten run to 14 games.

Aber's first defeat in 12 halted their Euro charge and Luke Bowen's stoppage-time strike was mere consolation.

Airbus 1-1 Neath Athletic (Sat):
Craig Stein's 14th goal of season rescued Neath a draw at Airbus after James McIntosh had given the hosts the lead.

Bangor City 0-0 Newtown (Sat):
Bangor City extended their unbeaten run to nine games ws they were held by struggling Newtown to a stalemate at Farrar Road.

Carmarthen Town 4-0 Cefn Druids (Sat):
Carmarthen secured their Super 12 status on the final day of the season was comprehensive win over bottom club Cefn Druids at Richmond Park.

Chris Thomas' double and goals from Dale Griffiths and Danny Thomas secured their first win in five games - against a side that ahs won just once all season - at a crucial time.

Connah's Quay 3-0 Porthmadog (Sat):
Porthmadog lost their first away game in five road trips as Connah's Quay strolled to victory.

Chris Herbert and Aaron Burns struck before half-time before Mike Hayes sealed the win with 15 minutes remaining.

Haverfordwest County 3-1 Caersws (Sat):
Haverfordwest secured their first victory in five games but the 3-1 win over struggling Caersws was not good enough to seal them a place in next season's Super 12 revamp.

Jack Christopher's 14th of the season set County on their way before Kyle Graves and Steffan Williams confirmed the victory - but Haverfordwest finished in their lowest league placing since 2003.

Geraint Lewis' consolation for Caersws was not enough as the visitors lost their 13 successive away game

Port Talbot Town 0-0 Bala Town (Sat):
Port Talbot secured European football for the first time in their history with a goal-less draw against Bala.

The stalemate meant Bala missed out on next season's Super 12 league as Carmarthen leapfrogged the north Walians on the final day thanks to their 4-0 win.

Prestatyn Town 1-5 Llanelli (Sat):
Llanelli's third win in five days was not enough for Andy Legg's side as they failed to win their second Welsh Premier title.

A Rhys Griffiths hat-trick inspired the Reds to the conniving win as the striker sealed the Welsh Premier golden boot award as his treble took his season's total to 30 in the league - 32 in all competitions.

Jordan Follows and Lee Phillips added goals in Llanelli's rout as Dan Evans scored Prestatyn's consolation.

Welshpool Town 1-2 Rhyl (Sat):
Matt Williams scored his 18th of the season as last season's champions Rhyl end a frustrating season on a high.

Rob Turner added Rhyl's other to beat struggling Welshpool, whose goal came from Marc Griffiths, as the mid-Wales side suffered their sixth defeat in seven.


Braintree Town 1-2 Newport County (Sat):
Paul Cochlin and Jamie Collins scored for champions Newport County as the Exiles ended an incredible season on a high at play-off chasing Braintree Town.


Swindon Supermarine 1-1 Merthyr Tydfil (Sat):
Kris Leek rescued a draw for Merthyr in the last five minutes.


Colwyn Bay 1-2 AFC Fylde (Sat):

Print Sponsor

see also
TNS secure fifth Welsh Prem title
24 Apr 10 |  Welsh
Welsh Premier
22 Jan 08 |  Welsh
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites