BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:29 GMT, Saturday, 24 April 2010 16:29 UK

TNS secure fifth Welsh Premier title

Welsh Premier

The New Saints secured their fifth Welsh Premier crown on the final day as they triumphed 3-1 at Aberystwyth Town.

Second-placed Llanelli demolished Prestatyn 5-1 but it counted for little as TNS, unbeaten in 14, sealed their first Welsh title for three years.

The defeat hit Aber's Europa League dreams as Port Talbot remained third to qualify for Europe for the first time as they drew 0-0 with Bala Town.

Bala were pipped for a Super 12 place by Carmarthen who beat Cefn Druids 4-0.

Llanelli lost just once in an incredible eight games in 19 days.

But despite Welsh Premier top-scorer Rhys Griffiths' hat-trick - taking his tally to 30 this season - in the 5-1 rout at Prestatyn, the Saints retained their two point league lead when the pressure was on.

Chris Sharp's brace and a strike from former Wales defender Steve Evans sealed Saints' win at Park Avenue to claim their fourth title in six years.

TNS benefit from a £250,000 boost for qualifying for the Champions League as they held their nerve to condemn Aber to their first defeat in 12 games.

"The title is thoroughly deserved," said TNS assistant manager Mike Davies.

"It has been a fantastic season and one to remember.

"The Champions League is the league to be in and the competition all the lads are desperate to play in - and there is the financial incentive as well which is brilliant for the club."

So Llanelli join Port Talbot in the Europa League as Aberystwyth fell at the final hurdle.

While Bala lost out on a Super 12 place in the next season's revamped Welsh Premier League as Carmarthen demolished struggling Cefn Druids at Richmond Park thanks to a double from Chris Thomas and goals from Dale Griffiths and Danny Thomas.

Bangor City, Rhyl, Airbus, Prestatyn Town and Neath join Carmarthen in the new streamlined top-flight.

The winners of the Welsh League and Cymru Alliance feeder leagues will also secure a place in the new league should the clubs meet ground criteria requirements.

Print Sponsor

see also
Welsh Premier
22 Jan 08 |  Welsh
Welsh Premier/non-League round-up
24 Apr 10 |  Welsh
Welsh Prem clubs to play 44 games
11 Dec 09 |  Welsh
Rhyl handed Welsh Premier title
18 Apr 09 |  Welsh
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites