BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:51 GMT, Saturday, 13 June 2009 16:51 UK

Premier clubs pass league changes

Welsh Premier

Welsh Premier clubs have voted unanimously to changes that will see the league cut from 18 teams to 12 from the 2010/11 season.

The league's original proposal was for a top tier of 10 with a feeder league 10 teams below that.

But the Football Association of Wales decided just to proceed with the top tier with the rest of the clubs falling to the Cymru Alliance and Welsh League.

Clubs can only gain entry to the new league if they have an FAW licence.

That licence roughly follows the criteria needed to play in the Uefa club competitions.

Print Sponsor

see also
BBC Sport Wales coverage
03 Oct 11 |  Wales

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites