BBC Sport
Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Monday, 24 April 2006, 15:24 GMT 16:24 UK
Welsh stars in team of the year
Wrexham's Mark Jones
Mark Jones makes the League Two line-up
Four Welsh players have made the Professional Footballers' Association's prestigious teams of the year.

Cardiff's highly regarded midfielder Jason Koumas - on loan from West Brom - is named in the Championship side.

Tranmere defender Gareth Roberts makes the League One team, alongside Swansea City's Scouse duo of striker Lee Trundle and midfielder Andy Robinson.

Northampton's Joshua Low is in the League Two side, with fellow Welsh midfielder and Wrexham star Mark Jones.

Player of the Year:
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Young Player of the Year:
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

Premiership Team of the Year:
Shay Given (Newcastle), Pascal Chimbonda (Wigan), John Terry (Chelsea), Jamie Carragher (Liverpool), William Gallas (Chelsea), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Joe Cole (Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Thierry Henry (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United).

Championship Team of the Year:
Marcus Hahnemann (Reading), Gary Kelly (Leeds), Ibrahima Sonko (Reading), Joleon Lescott (Wolves), Nicky Shorey (Reading), Steve Sidwell (Reading), Ashley Young (Watford), Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United), Jason Koumas (Cardiff), Marlon King (Watford), Kevin Doyle (Reading)

League One Team of the Year:
Darryl Flahavan (Southend), Greg Halford (Colchester), Sam Sodje (Brentford), Adam Barrett (Southend), Gareth Roberts (Tranmere), Neil Danns (Colchester), Andy Robinson (Swansea), Kevin Maher (Southend) Michael McIndoe (Doncaster), Lee Trundle (Swansea), Billy Sharp (Scunthorpe).

League Two Team of the Year:
Joe Hart (Shrewsbury), Danny Senda (Wycombe), Roger Johnson (Wycombe), Gareth McAuley (Lincoln), Matthew Lockwood (Leyton Orient), Kevin Betsy (Wycombe), Joshua Low (Northampton), Mark Jones (Wrexham), Ian Taylor (Northampton), Karl Hawley (Carlisle), Michael Reddy (Grimsby).

Gerrard named player of the year
23 Apr 06 |  Football


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport