BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 07:30 GMT, Tuesday, 13 May 2008 08:30 UK

Gault picks up NI Writers award

Linfield's Michael Gault
Michael Gault performances have helped him earn a NI full cap

Michael Gault, David Jeffrey and David Healy were among the winners at the Northern Ireland Football Writers annual awards on Monday night.

Gault was named footballer of the year while his Linfield boss David Jeffrey picked up the manager's award.

Healy earned the Intenational Personality of the Year award while Cliftonville's Aaron Smyth won the young player honour.

Other winners included Roy Coyle who took the Hall of Fame award.

Harland and Wolff Welders stalwart Fred Magee won the Harp Merit award for his service to the local game while First Division champions Loughgall were voted junior team of the year.

Northern Ireland's World Cup heroes of 1958 were also honoured at the dinner at the Europa Hotel in Belfast.

Squad members Billy Simpson, Peter McParland, Jimmy McIlroy, Billy Bingham, Harry Gregg and Norman Upritchard attended Monday's gathering.


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.