BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:34 GMT, Wednesday, 25 March 2009

Four Nations set for 2011 launch

international football

Provisional dates for a Four Nations tournament involving Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales and Republic of Ireland have been announced.

The 'Celtic Cup' style tournament will be held in Dublin at the new Aviva Stadium and the first two games are to take place on 8 and 9 February 2011.

The remaining four games will take place from 24-28 May.

Football Association of Wales secretary said the FAW was "delighted" to have agreed the dates.

"After many months of work we are delighted that this has now come about," he said.


"We look forward to a great tournament especially in the new stadium in Dublin and we trust it will be a huge success which will enable us to extending in future years."

The tournament is to be held in one country on a rotational tournament-by-tournament basis with two games being played on match-days.

The old Home Championship, which included England but not the Republic of Ireland, was staged every year until 1984.

But matches between England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland were eventually scrapped because of increasing fixture congestion.

Print Sponsor

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.