Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Monday, 26 November 2007, 11:02 GMT
England squad set for 1966 medals
Bobby Moore
Bobby Moore captained England to their 1966 World Cup triumph
The non-playing members of England's 1966 World Cup-winning team will receive retrospective medals for the achievement, Fifa has ruled.

The move by world football's governing body follows calls from the Football Association and 2018 World Cup bid ambassador Richard Caborn.

Every finalist between 1930 and 1974 will be rewarded, with a medal going to the families of those who have died.

"It's justice for all those players," said Fifa president Sepp Blatter.

"Richard Caborn brought it up by saying it's not right that only the 11 players got a medal.


"I believe that is right. We will go through our history records and reproduce medals, and we will give those medals to all those who have been in the squad and not just those who were on the field of play."

Apart from the 11 members of England's 1966 squad who did not play in the final, the decision means Brazil legend Pele will receive a third winners' medal to go with those for the 1958 and 1970 tournaments, having missed the 1962 final because of injury.

Caborn, who will ask Blatter to present the medals to the surviving England squad members at Wembley Stadium, said: "It's great news.

"I really welcome this for the England players, and I'm pleased too that it means Pele will get a third gold medal.

"I am going to ask Mr Blatter to give the medals at a special presentation ceremony at the new Wembley Stadium.

The other England players set to receive medals:

  • Jimmy Greaves (Tottenham)
  • Jimmy Armfield (Blackpool)
  • Peter Bonetti (Chelsea)
  • John Connolly (Manchester United)
  • Ron Springett (Sheffield Wednesday)
  • Gerry Byrne (Liverpool)
  • Ron Flowers (Wolves)
  • Norman Hunter (Leeds)
  • Terry Paine (Southampton)
  • Ian Callaghan (Liverpool)
  • George Eastham (Arsenal)

Defender Norman Hunter told the Sun: "I'm delighted. Not having a medal to show for the 1966 World Cup was the biggest regret of my career.

"It really rankled. All I had to show for the tournament were the memories, a tracksuit and a photo. We all did our bit and it will be something to really cherish."

Greaves was less enthusiastic, however, adding: "What's the point of giving us all medals now? It's really not necessary.

"In 1966 we knew you'd only get a medal if you played. Those were the rules. I've never been bitter."

All members of winning squads have received medals since the 1978 World Cup in Argentina.

World Cup history - England 1966
27 Apr 06 |  World Cup 2006
Memories of 1966
05 May 06 |  World Cup 2006
World Cup 1966 flashback
31 Jul 06 |  World Cup 2006
1966: What do you remember?
24 May 06 |  World Cup 2006


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Other Sport...

Video and Audio | Scores & Fixtures | Have Your Say | TV/Radio Schedule

Fun and Games | Question of Sport | Photo Galleries

Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us | Advertise with us