BBC Sport
Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help

Last Updated: Thursday, 4 December, 2003, 14:47 GMT
Riley picked for Euro 2004
Mike Riley in action during a Premiership game
Mike Riley has been selected to head one of 12 'teams' of referees who will take charge of matches at next summer's Euro 2004 finals.

Each 'team' consists of a referee and two assistant referees from the same country, and represent the cream of European officials.

European football's governing body, Uefa, believes using same-nationality officials will help with communication.

Riley heads England's contingent with Glenn Turner and Philip Sharp.

The trio have already been working together in Uefa competitions, including the Champions League.

Among the other referees selected is highly-respected Italian Pierluigi Collina, who took charge of the 2002 World Cup final where Brazil defeated Germany.

Germany's Markus Merk, who took last season's Champions League final between AC Milan and Juventus, is also on the list.

All of the officials, including a quartet of fourth officials, will attend a preparation seminar in host country Portugal from 26-29 April.

Euro 2004 referees: Kim Milton Nielsen (Denmark), Mike Riley (England), Gilles Veissihre (France), Markus Merk (Germany), Pierluigi Collina (Italy), Terie Hauge (Norway), Lucilio Cardoso Cortez Batista (Portugal), Valentin Ivanov (Russia), Lubos Michel (Slovakia), Manuel Enrique Mejuto Gonzalez (Spain), Anders Frisk (Sweden), Urs Meier (Switzerland).

Assistant referees: Jens Larsen, Jogen Jepsen (Denmark); Philip Sharp, Glenn Turner (England); Frederic Arnault, Serge Vallin (France); Christian Schraer, Jan-Hendrik Salver (Germany); Marco Ivaldi, Narciso Pisacreta (Italy); Steinar Holvik, Ole Hermann Borgan (Norway); Paulo Jorge Januario Leite Ribeiro, Jose Manuel Silva Cardinal (Portugal); Gennady Krasyuk, Vladimir Eniutin (Russia); Igor Sramka, Martin Balko (Slovakia); Oscar Martinez, Rafael Guerrero (Spain); Kenneth Petersson, Peter Ekstrom (Sweden); Francesco Buragina, Rudolf Kappeli (Switzerland).

Fourth officials: Frank De Bleeckere (Belgium), Kyros Vassaras (Greece), Alain Hamer (Luxembourg), Stuart Dougal (Scotland).

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Other Sport...

Video and Audio | Scores & Fixtures | Have Your Say | TV/Radio Schedule

Fun and Games | Question of Sport | Photo Galleries

Northern Ireland | Scotland | Wales

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport