BBC Sport footballfocus

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 14:10 GMT, Wednesday, 29 August 2007 15:10 UK

Hall of Fame

Clockwise from top left: Paul Scholes, Sir Trevor Brooking, Ray Clemence, Ray Wilson, Dennis Bergkamp, Len Shackleton

Football Focus viewers were asked to award one of the above legends with a place in the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame - scroll through the pictures to find out who won

Paul Scholes (r) and Ryan Giggs celebrate Man Utd's 1996 FA Cup win

Paul Scholes joined Manchester United as a 14-year-old and has gone on to make 540 appearances, scoring 138 goals

Manchester United's Paul Scholes

Scholes's honours include seven Premier League titles, three FA Cups, a League Cup and the historic 1999 Treble

Sir Trevor Brooking

Sir Trevor Brooking joined West Ham as an apprentice in 1965 and spent his whole career with the club, retiring in 1984 after more than 600 appearances and over 100 goals

Sir Trevor Brooking

An FA Cup winner in 1975 and 1980, Brooking also won 47 England caps, netting five times in the process. He was knighted in 2004.

Ray Clemence in action for Liverpool

Ray Clemence won 61 England caps as well as three European Cups, two Uefa Cups, five League titles, one FA Cup and one League Cup with Liverpool

Ray Clemence helped Liverpool win three European Cups

He played 107 European club fixtures over 16 consecutive seasons between 1969 and 1985 for both Liverpool and Tottenham

Sunderland's Len Shackleton

Len Shackleton was one of football's great entertainers. After 25 goals in 57 appearances at Newcastle, he was lured to Sunderland where he would spend the next 11 years

Sunderland's Len Shackleton

Shackleton holds Sunderland's post-war scoring record with 101 goals in 348 games

Dennis Bergkamp

Dennis Bergkamp began his career at Ajax before moving on to Inter Milan and Arsenal, where his virtuoso displays made him a Gunners legend

Dennis Bergkamp celebrates winning the FA Cup, the Premiership and the Player of the Year Award in 1998

One of English football's greatest imports, Bergkamp won three Premier Leagues titles and four FA Cups at Arsenal

England World Cup winner Ray Wilson

Ray Wilson played in defence for England and Everton. At 31 he was the oldest member of the 1966 World Cup winning team. He won 63 caps for his country at left back

Dennis Bergkamp celebrates another goal with the Arsenal faithful

And the winner is... Arsenal legend Dennis Bergkamp. Bergkamp will be inducted into the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame on Thursday 15 November at Old Trafford

see also
Saturday's show
30 Aug 07 |  Football Focus

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.