BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:57 GMT, Monday, 10 December 2007

Mackail-Smith scoops FA Cup award

Craig Mackail-Smith
2nd round: Craig Mackail-Smith (pictured)
1st round: Stuart Beavon
4th QR: Craig Farrell
3rd QR: Andy Forbes
2nd QR: Matt Townley
1st QR: Jack Pitcher

Peterborough United striker Craig Mackail-Smith has been voted as FA Cup "Player of the Round" for round two.

The forward netted the award for four goals against Staines in a 5-0 win.

He saw off the challenge of Paul Benson (Dagenham & Redbridge), Mark Branch (Chasetown), Paul Seuke (Horsham) and Tony Taggart (Havant & Waterlooville).

Mackail-Smith will join the five winners from the earlier rounds and five players from subsequent rounds in the "Team of the FA Cup" for 2007/08.

As well as a VIP ticket to the 2008 FA Cup Final at Wembley on Saturday, 17 May 2008, each of the 11 winners will receive a trophy and 500 worth of football equipment for a local school of his choice all courtesy of E.ON.. All the winners have been voted for on the FA website.

The "Team of the FA Cup" so far comprises Jack Pitcher (Gloucester City), Matt Townley (Team Bath), Andy Forbes (Eastleigh), Craig Farrell (York City), Stuart Beavon (Weymouth), and Mackail-Smith.

see also
FA Cup third round draw
02 Dec 07 |  FA Cup

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.