BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:43 GMT, Saturday, 21 February 2009

Premier League v Serie A: European Cup success
Manchester United win Champions League

Clubs from Italy and England have won the European Cup on 11 occasions each, in total.

The five-year ban (1985-1990) on English clubs competing in Europe as a result of the Heysel Stadium disaster had an impact, with no top-flight side winning Europe's top competition until 1999 following the reinstatement for the 1991-92 season.

But since then, the Champions League title has gone to an English club on two more occasions and teams from England have featured in the last four finals.

Between 1999 and 2008, Italian sides have won the competition on only two occasions and the country has been represented in just three finals.

Serie A fortunes in Europe did take a blow in 2006 when champions Juventus were stripped of their title after they were implicated in the country's football scandal.

They were also relegated to Serie B and withdrawn from the following season's Champions League competition, as were Fiorentina, who were also cited.


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2019 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.