BBC Sport
Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Monday, 16 January 2006, 15:25 GMT
Mourinho lands top Uefa accolade
Jose Mourinho
Mourinho has won 67 of his 90 games in charge at Chelsea
Chelsea and Liverpool each have two players in Uefa's team of the year with Blues boss Jose Mourinho voted coach.

Chelsea's Petr Cech and John Terry were named in the side alongside Reds duo Steven Gerrard and Luis Garcia.

Five clubs were represented in the side overall with players from AC Milan, Barcelona and Juventus also featuring.

Cafu, Carles Puyol, Paolo Maldini, Ronaldinho, Pavel Nedved, Samuel Eto'o and Andriy Shevchenko made up the rest of the Uefa line-up.

Chelsea boss Mourinho beat Liverpool's Champions League-winning manager Rafael Benitez to the coach of the year vote to scoop the award for the third season running.

The Premiership holders had more than any other club in contention ahead of the team of the year selection with eight players in the running.

However, Didier Drogba, Arjen Robben, Frank Lampard, Michael Essien, Asier del Horno and Ricardo Carvalho all missed the final cut.

England captain David Beckham and Arsenal striker Thierry Henry were also nominated.

The team was decided by users of Uefa's website.



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport