BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 22:29 GMT, Sunday, 25 April 2010 23:29 UK

Rooney is PFA player of the year

Lucas Radebe, Wayne Rooney and James Milner with their awards
Radebe (left), Rooney and Milner (right) with their trophies at the PFA awards

Wayne Rooney has been voted player of the year by his peers in the Professional Footballers' Association.

The Manchester United striker, who has scored 34 goals this season, beat off competition from Didier Drogba, Carlos Tevez and Cesc Fabregas.

Rooney, 24, said: "It's a great feeling to win because it's voted for by the players. It's a great honour and I'm really proud."

The young player accolade went to Aston Villa's James Milner.

Rooney was also nominated for that honour but England team-mate Milner, also 24, came out on top.


Milner, who seems certain to be included in Fabio Capello's World Cup squad, credited a change in position for his success this season.

"I've been moved into the middle and that suits me as it helps me influence the game a bit more," he said.

"Maybe sometimes wide right you want to influence the game but you just can't get yourself into it."

As for Rooney, he has blossomed at Old Trafford this season following the departures of Cristiano Ronaldo to Real Madrid and Carlos Tevez to Manchester City.

The England forward has played in a more advanced role than in previous seasons and has become hugely prolific in the air.

He has also had to cope with a number of injuries in recent weeks.

Sir Alex is a great manager who has really brought me on as a player since I joined United... his hunger passes through to the players

Wayne Rooney

He injured ankle ligaments in the first leg of the Champions League quarter-final against Bayern Munich and missed Saturday's 3-1 win over Tottenham with a groin injury sustained in training.

However, he insisted he will be fit for the World Cup and indeed hopes to play in United's last league game, against Stoke.

"The groin will be fine for the World Cup, there are no worries about that," said the former Everton player. "I'm hoping to play for United in the last game of the season.

"I remember coming here in 2005 and 2006 to win the young player of the year award. I saw the players winning the main one and it's something I've aimed for since."

The striker paid tribute to United boss Sir Alex Ferguson and the influence he has had on his career.

"Sir Alex is a great manager who has really brought me on as a player since I joined United. His hunger passes through to the players.

"It's great to see that he's pushing 70 and he hasn't changed a bit. I'm sure he'll be at United a long time yet."

Former Leeds and South Africa defender Lucas Radebe, 41, won the PFA Merit Award.

"Sport can change the world," he said.

"Football has played such a big part in lifting my community. I'm very proud to get such a great award."

Premier League team of the year:

Joe Hart (Man City, Birmingham on loan), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal), Richard Dunne (Aston Villa), Patrice Evra (Man Utd), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal), James Milner (Aston Villa), Darren Fletcher (Man Utd), Antonio Valencia (Man Utd), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd), Didier Drogba (Chelsea).

Championship team of the year:

Lee Camp (Nottingham Forest), Chris Gunter (Nottingham Forest), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle), Ashley Williams (Swansea), Jose Enrique (Newcastle), Graham Dorrans (West Brom), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Kevin Nolan (Newcastle), Charlie Adam (Blackpool), Andy Carroll (Newcastle), Michael Chopra (Cardiff).

League One team of the year:

Kelvin Davis (Southampton), Frazer Richardson (Charlton), Patrick Kisnorbo (Leeds), Gary Doherty (Norwich), Ian Harte (Carlisle), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Jason Puncheon (Southampton), Robert Snodgrass (Leeds), Nicky Bailey (Charlton), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Grant Holt (Norwich).

League Two team of the year:

Kasper Schmeichel (Notts County), John Brayford (Crewe), Craig Dawson (Rochdale), Ian Sharps (Rotherham), Tom Kennedy (Rochdale), Ben Davies (Notts County), Stephen Dawson (Bury), Gary Jones (Rochdale), Nicky Law (Rotherham), Lee Hughes (Notts County), Adam Le Fondre (Rotherham).

Print Sponsor

see also
Rooney could miss Man Utd run-in
24 Apr 10 |  Man Utd
Rooney going nowhere - Ferguson
16 Apr 10 |  Man Utd
O'Neill denies Milner exit rumour
20 Apr 10 |  Aston Villa
Arsenal deny Fabregas summer sale
14 Apr 10 |  Arsenal
Giggs earns prestigious PFA award
26 Apr 09 |  Football

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites