BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:37 GMT, Tuesday, 14 April 2009 16:37 UK

Man Utd dominate PFA awards list

Nemanja Vidic
United defender Vidic is favourite to win the PFA award

Steven Gerrard is the only non-Manchester United player in the running for the Professional Footballers' Association player of the year award.

The Liverpool captain is joined on the shortlist by United's Nemanja Vidic, Ryan Giggs, Rio Ferdinand, Cristiano Ronaldo and Edwin van der Sar.

Jonny Evans and Rafael Da Silva are nominees for the young player award.

Also in contention with the United pair are Gabriel Agbonlahor, Ashley Young, Aaron Lennon and Stephen Ireland.

Defender Vidic is favourite to lift the trophy at London's Grosvenor House on 26 April.

Voting took place before United's recent dip in form, perhaps explaining why the list of contenders is dominated by players from Sir Alex Ferguson's team.

But Gerrard could benefit from a split vote for United players as David Ginola did during their 1999 treble-winning season - an outcome that annoyed Ferguson.


Giggs has never won the award, whereas Ronaldo could become the first player to win it three years in a row.

After a superb season for Manchester City, Ireland is favourite to succeed Arsenal's Cesc Fabregas as the country's top youngster.

Agbonlahor and Young have both impressed for Aston Villa, while Tottenham winger Lennon has also caught the eye.

Arsenal did not have any players nominated for the awards, but Gunners boss Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger said the shortlist should not be drawn up until the end of the season.

"What I believe is that the decisions are all made in February," said Wenger.

"But February is not a really important time and that means the players who are rewarded are those who played well until February.

"Now is the most important time of the season - April, May - so I believe these awards just reward the players of the first six months of the season.

"A player who has been out until January has no chance to be voted but he can still be very influential for the rest of the season.

"If they vote in May I hope some of my players would be in there because that would mean we have done well."

Nominees for the PFA player of the year award:

Rio Ferdinand (Man Utd)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)
Ryan Giggs (Man Utd)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd
Edwin van der Sar (Man Utd)
Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd)

Nominees for the PFA young player of the year award:

Gabriel Agbonlahor (Aston Villa)
Rafael Da Silva (Man Utd)
Jonny Evans (Man Utd)
Stephen Ireland (Man City)
Aaron Lennon (Tottenham)
Ashley Young (Aston Villa)

Print Sponsor

see also
How to watch Match of the Day
09 Aug 11 |  Match of the Day
Ronaldo named Fifa player of 2008
12 Jan 09 |  Football
Ronaldo named player of the year
27 Apr 08 |  Football
Why Ronaldo made the difference
12 May 08 |  Man Utd
Ronaldo tops PFA nominations list
11 Apr 08 |  Premier League
Man Utd record delights Ferguson
27 Jan 09 |  Man Utd
Ronaldo gets hands on Ballon d'Or
07 Dec 08 |  Man Utd
Charlton hails Giggs achievement
12 May 08 |  Man Utd

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites