BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:47 GMT, Saturday, 19 April 2008 19:47 UK

Swansea champions despite defeat

Swansea players celebrated after the final whistle
Swansea players celebrated after the final whistle

Swansea City were crowned League One champions despite going down 2-1 at home to struggling Yeovil.

The Swans rivals Carlisle lost 2-1 at home to Southend which sealed their first place finish and sent the Welsh club's fans into party mode.

Yeovil went ahead with a first-half goal from Terry Skiverton and Aiden Downes's strike after the break.

Andy Robinson put the Swans back into contention with 13 minutes remaining, but the defeat was soon forgotten.

Swansea: De Vries, Williams, Tate, Lawrence, Austin (Bauza 70), Britton, Pratley, Robinson, Butler (Anderson 71), Brandy, Scotland.
Subs Not Used: Monk, Tudur-Jones, Way.

Sent Off: Pratley (90).

Booked: Bauza.

Goals: Robinson 79.

Yeovil: Mildenhall, Peltier, Skiverton, Forbes, Smith, Barry, Peters, Bircham (Owusu 83), Williams, Downes (Jones 76), Stewart.
Subs Not Used: Guyett, Behcet, Kirk.

Booked: Skiverton, Peltier, Downes, Bircham, Williams, Mildenhall.

Goals: Skiverton 23, Downes 60.

Att: 18,321

Ref: Mike Russell (Hertfordshire).

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites