BBC Sport
Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help

Last Updated: Saturday, 9 April, 2005, 23:27 GMT 00:27 UK
AFC Wimbledon enjoy title glory
AFC Wimbledon beat Metropolitan Police 1-0 to clinch the Ryman League Division One championship title.

The Dons had already clinched promotion for the second successive season and will play in the Ryman League Premier Division next season.

Shane Smeltz scored the only goal in the eighth minute to delight a crowd of 3,230 at Kingsmeadow.

The club was founded in 2002 by fans of Wimbledon who were angry at the club's plans to move to Milton Keynes.

They were third in their first season in the Combined Counties League before winning the title 12 months later.

Earlier this season they set a new English senior record for consecutive unbeaten League games when a 1-1 draw with Bromley extended their run to 76 matches.

AFC Wimbledon set English record
13 Nov 04 |  Football
Ursell clinches award
11 Oct 04 |  FA Cup
Reds stars to aid Dons
15 Aug 04 |  Non League
A season to remember
10 May 03 |  Football
Great start for 'new Dons'
11 Jul 02 |  Wimbledon
New Dons go non-league
25 Jun 02 |  Wimbledon

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport