Scotland Wales Northern Ireland

You are in: You are in: Football: Africa: Cup of Nations  
Front Page 
FA Cup 
Eng Prem 
World Cup 2002 
Champions League 
Uefa Cup 
Worthington Cup 
Eng Div 1 
Eng Div 2 
Eng Div 3 
Eng Conf 
Scot Prem 
Scottish Cup 
CIS Ins Cup 
Scot Div 1 
Scot Div 2 
Scot Div 3 
League of Wales 
Rugby Union 
Rugby League 
Other Sports 
Sports Talk 
In Depth 
Photo Galleries 
TV & Radio 
BBC Pundits 
Question of Sport 
Funny Old Game 

Around The Uk

BBC News

BBC Weather

banner Monday, 11 February, 2002, 19:05 GMT
49 in for 2004 Nations Cup
Cameroon and the 2002 Nations Cup
Cameroon will defend the trophy in 2004
49 countries have entered the qualification series for the next African Nations Cup, to be hosted by Tunisia in 2004.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced the draw at the just concluded finals in Mali.

Entrants have been divided into 13 league groups, with ten groups comprising of four teams, while the other three groups have three teams each.

  • Group A - Angola, Nigeria, Djibouti, Malawi

  • Group B- Guinea, Liberia, Niger, Ethiopia

  • Group C- Sudan, Zambia, Benin, Tanzania

  • Group D- Congo, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Mozambique

  • Group E- Kenya, Togo, Mauritania, Cape Verde

  • Group F- Zimbabwe, Mali, Seychelles, Eritrea

  • Group G- Gabon, Morocco, Equatorial Guinea, Sierra Leone

  • Group H- Lesotho, Senegal, Sao Tome, Gambia

  • Group I- Libya, DR Congo, Botswana, Swaziland

  • Group J- Madagascar, Egypt, Guinea Bissau, Mauritius

  • Group K- Cote D'Ivoire, South Africa, Burundi

  • Group L - Namibia, Algeria, Chad

  • Group M- Uganda, Ghana, Rwanda

Each group winner automatically qualifies for the 2004 tournament, while the best placed runner-up from the groups of four also qualifies.

That team would be the one with the highest number of points.

If that is tied, then superior goal difference and the highest number of goals scored in the entire league series would count.

Should two or more teams have identical statistics, a play off would be arranged to determine the qualifiers.

Cameroon qualify as champions, and Tunisia qualify as hosts.

The first round of matches is due to be played in early September.

Links to more Cup of Nations stories are at the foot of the page.


E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Cup of Nations stories

^^ Back to top