BBC Sport football


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:10 GMT, Friday, 20 August 2010 16:10 UK

Yakubu Ayegbeni and Sani Kaita out of Nigeria squad

By Oluwashina Okeleji
BBC Sport, Lagos

Yakubu Ayegbeni misses an open goal in the World Cup game against South Korea
Nigerian fans were angry with Yakubu's performances at the World Cup

Nigeria have left Yakubu Ayegbeni and Sani Kaita out of their squad for the opening game of 2012 qualifying against Madagascar.

Also missing from the 26-man line-up are France-based defender Taye Taiwo and Obinna Nsofor of Inter Milan.

All four players were part of the Super Eagles' squad at the recent World Cup.

The squad has been named by stand-in coach Augustin Eguavon, as negotiations continue with Samson Siasia over taking over the role full-time.

Chelsea midfielder John Obi Mikel leads a cast of five England-based stars which includes Joseph Yobo, Danny Shittu, Sam Sodje and the new West Bromwich Albion player Osaze Odemwingie.

Eleven players from the Nigerian domestic league have also been included in the squad, which the Nigeian Football Federation (NFF) say will be handled by Eguavoen.

"These are the invited players for the important qualifier against Madagascar as announced by the technical committee," NFF spokesman Robinson Okosun told BBC Sport.

Despite leaving out several experienced players from the World Cup, Okosun insists that the country is not taking anything for granted.

"Importantly we are not going to underrate the Madagascans because they have improved over the years.

"The team will be handled by Eguavoen pending the announcement of a substantive coach for the Super Eagles.

"Eguavoen be in charge until he resumes his duty as the national under-23 coach at the start of October," Okosun added.

Samson Siasia is involved in protracted negotiations with the NFF over taking over the job of national team coach.

The NFF is due to hold elections to name a new executive committee on Saturday, but doubts remain over whether the elections will go ahead.

Nigeria Squad

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Dele Ayenugba (Bnei Yehuda, Israel), Bassey Akpan (Bayelsa FC).

Defenders: Daniel Shittu (Bolton Wanderers, England), Joseph Yobo (Everton, England), Terna Suswam (Lobi Stars), Valentine Nwabili (Enyimba FC), Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Sam Sodje (England), Emmanuel Anyanwu (Enyimba FC), Ugwu Uwadiegu (Rangers FC), Promise Onuh (Tornadoes FC)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea, England), Kalu Uche (Almeria, Spain), Olufemi Ajilore (Groningen, Holland), Moses Bunde (Lobi Stars), Eneji Otekpa (Lobi Stars), Saka Ojo (Heartland), Fengor Ogude (Warri Wolves), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham, England)

Strikers: Obafemi Martins (Rubin Kazan, Russia), Osaze Odemwingie (West Brom, England), Joseph Akpala (FC Brugge, Belgium) , Michael Eneramo (Esperance, Tunisia), Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars), Solomon Okoronkwo (Saturn, Russia)

Print Sponsor

see also
Odemwingie seals West Brom move
20 Aug 10 |  West Brom
Lagerback declines Nigeria offer
06 Aug 10 |  African
Nigeria set to rebuild Eagles
14 Jul 10 |  African
Nigeria striker critical of coach
23 Jun 10 |  World Cup 2010
2012 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers
10 Apr 10 |  African

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.